You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom Friday No. 6 // Freedom of Music, Freedom Songs // African American Spirituals & Shouting

in #freedomfriday6 years ago

Ahhhhh. Some of my early heroes were the freedom riders of the early '60s. Those people showed true commitment, at the risk of their lives. Many died.

It's not perfect, yet, not even close. But it's so much better than it was in my younger days...

One of the random things you can't know about me is I'm a Blues Guy which just happens to mean that I've been at least exposed to most of the music you highlight. A lot of the old blues was sung with maybe one guitar and floor percussion.

I got to see Sonny Terry and Brownie McGee in 1969 which sent me down the rabbit hole that is the early blues. They were old men. One in his 70s and the other in his 80s as I recall. It was a teeny venue, didn't even have a stage. They shuffled out with their blues kit and a broom and a box for percussion. Sonny Terry played the harp and Brownie McGee the guitar. It was amazing.

Freedom and We Shall Overcome were both often sung at rallies and gatherings. I got to see and participate in some.

Another great Freedom Friday. I wondered where you were going to go with this after your past topics. It was special.

Sort:  

I used to listen to Sonny Terry and Brownie McGee when I was a teenager. I loved them. How amazing it would have been to see them.

interesting, yes i didn't mention that i grew up with many musicians and as i mentioned i was sung to quite a bit from freedom fighters. it was certainly beautiful to have that, i'm lucky in many ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79