You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speak Truth, But Cause No Harm

in #freedomtribe5 years ago

Wonderful view on truths @riverflows. I have noticed that brutal and honest seem to go hand in hand for the reason that you mention. The truth hurts. People don't really want the truth, truth be told (🙄) When someone asks if they look fat in something, the don't want to be told 'Yes you do?' Some do answer truthfully do harm. People can be wicked that way. Yet we do expect certain people to respond with that answer. If I don't look good in something, I do expect my best friend to say 'That doesn't look good.'

I had/have the same issue with my husband. I try to not get upset with the small things like that, but he would leave dirty dishes all over the place if I didn't say something. I don't yell or cause an argument. I simply ask why and ask him to please make a more earnest attempt. Sadly, it is because it doesn't matter to him. He would let the dishes pile up in the sink if I let him.

I did take a completely different approach with him than I have in any other relationship. I don't overthink him. He's a simple creature. He really doesn't have any ulterior motives. He speaks his mind, doesn't do anything he doesn't like (like picking up dishes). To help me with the problems I have when my irrational moments come around I tell him I am irritated. If I'm not liking him in that moment, I say 'you're not my favorite person right now.' He usually giggles and says that's ok I love you enough for both of us.

Sort:  

Truth is PAINFUL, man!!!!

He would let the dishes pile up in the sink if I let him.

Bless men for having such little care over these things. we could take a leaf out of their book!! Not overthinking is a good thing - I think you hit the right relationship and all the overthinking disappears. Love is.

He sounds divine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87