Free Will? yay or nay?

in #freewill6 years ago

Do you believe people have free will? that we are in control of our lives? that we deserve to be punished for our bad deeds and rewarded for our good actions? Do you believe that your current status in life is of your own doing and keep blaming yourself for any problem and failure?

I do [though trying to change that!] I blame myself for every bad thing that happened in my life, for everything that went wrong, for everything I didn't do or couldn't achieve. Some part of my brain always protested that there were problems beyond my control, but I firmly believed that I could have risen above the problems, that I could've found a way "if there's a will, there's a way" and so even if situation was far less than ideals - like economic crisis in the country, being born in a relatively poor family, war, etc [and yes all that happened!] I kept looking for moments that I had given up and blamed myself for them.

Then few days ago I found an interview with Gregg Caruso about the subject of free will and then went on to search about him and listened to his other talks. He's a skeptic; believes that strong belief in free will and power of will places too much stress on people, while they are not that much in control of their fate and lives. Listen to his talk and tell me what you think!

Sort:  

You agree? or are you the same as in blaming yourself?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71