Weekend Freewrite: 5/11/2019-Single Prompt Option: slug

in #freewrire5 years ago (edited)

Weekend Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest- 5/11/2019- Single Prompt Option: slug


photo by me @whatisnew

Slimy Slug

The slug in your garden may be a thug,
It has thousands of teeth to feed, no need to lug.
It has no backbone and looks quite smug,
It does well on its own, better than a bug.

It can get pregnant without a mate, no need to wait,
But with a mate, its penis gets chewed off; is that fate?
"That's what you get for eating my lettuce! You're a menace!"

As it plugs along it leaves a slimy trail,
To find its way back home without fail.
And though, you may not know,
There are thousands more underground, hidden not found,
Just waiting to explore. How is that for an encore?

This cute gif is brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

That was cute. I hate their slime but I'm fascinated by them.

Thanks @agmoore! I love how nature fascinates you. : )

Your rhymes always make me smile! Thanks for putting thoughts of slug penises in my head. 😂 (Wonder what people will think if they see my browser history...😉 Though it really was interesting to read the why of it.)

You've found yet another subject who was happy to have you take a close up. 📸 Just you wait, creatures far and wide will be queuing up for you to get their good sides. 🤗

HAHAHAHA! ROFLOL!!! You have penises on the brain! LOL!!!

Your rhymes always make me smile too. Isn't that a great thought...to have creatures lining up for me so I can take their photos. That would be perfect. : )

I absolutely love my Mother's Day gif with the butterflies fluttering. Thanks so much sweet brisby! HUGS! Would it be possible for you to send another gif to me just like this one without the "Happy Mother's Day?" I would love to use it for my Butterfly Day Giveaway. I know you are extremely busy and you know that I will understand if you can't do it. I hope you had a Happy Mother's Day sweet brisby!

Ha!!! I really did have them on the brain. Which led to quite the internet search. 😳 (Let's just say that that the Argentine Blue-Bill Lake Duck has legitimate bragging rights. 😂 )

I'm so happy that you loved the gif!! 🤗🤗 That you want to use it for your Butterfly Day Giveaway is such a great compliment, thank you!!🦋🦋

I removed the words from the gif but for whatever reason I'm unable to get it to work in my reply. I've posted the gif to another site so that you're able to have two options to right click and 'save as gif' from or to use the embed code in your post. 💜

https://giphy.com/gifs/QU441Yr4r1Wlphei6i
https://imgur.com/a/K7kfreO

Both of these links will show you your gif. I'll keep trying here and there through the day to be able to post it to you in this reply.

Happy Thursday!!!

Now you made me look up the Blue-Bill Lake duck. At least I didn't have to search for penises. LOL! 1 1/2 feet long?!?! OMG!!! They sure do have bragging rights.

Thank you, thank you, thank you sweet brisby for the links to your beautiful Butterfly gif. I can't wait to start using it on Thursday. Yay! : )
I hope you were able to get some planting done. Thanks so much again sweet brsiby and hope you are having a great weekend. Sending you much love and Hugs!

Well if they do not need to mate the penis is useless anyway.

I feel for your lettuce.
Those thousands were in my hallway!

Happy 💥day!

Posted using Partiko Android

HaHa! That just made me think about what a human male would say about their penis being useless. LOL!

OMG! You had slugs in your hallway?!?! I feel for you!

We are able to clone so... It's close to useless.

They were all over the hallway, slime on the walls.. It took longer to get rid of them.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a mug on this slug! :-)
Awesome buggy wuggy words ❤ @whatisnew!

HaHa! I love your awesome rhyming comment. @shasta! : ) Hugs!

hahaha! Howdy Butterfly! that was great! That was the most entertaining thing I'm sure I'll ever read about slugs! lol. Is that for real, they can get pregnant themselves?

Howdy @janton! I am always happy to entertain you. LOL! Yes, that is for real. They have both make and female reproductive organs but they prefer to have a mate.

Howdy Butterfly and wow...they don't need mates but prefer the companionship. Some of us humans are like that. Can handle things fine alone but want a mate to tease and give a hard time to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97