0 - a stream of consciousness poem for Freewrite # 164 - fool

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my 34th 5 minute freewrite. The prompt is: "fool".

(This piece ACTUALLY ONLY took me 5 minutes to write! Finding the image took a lot longer... and it still isn't the one I wanted. Ah well. 5 minutes! I did it!)

Freewriting is a daily practice for most poets and fiction writers, designed to loosen up and get things flowing, like stretching before exercise. Visual artists, especially those who draw or paint from life (figures, landscapes, still lives, etc) do something similar in "gesture drawings". After reading several of @poetrybyjeremy's freewrite posts, I got excited to try these again. Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-164-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-fool



https://commons.wikimedia.org

0

In the card
He looks so brave

No

Not brave
Bravery requires caution
An awareness of danger

Bravery is listening
To the still small voice of fear
Taking its hand
Walking with it
Along the edge of the cliff

One eye on the path ahead
One on the abyss.


©2018 Bennett Italia All Rights Reserved

Horizontal rulers courtesy of @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Sort:  

Very nice ... the abyss might not be so bad ... let go of fear and I imagine falling becomes flying:)

Nicely done!

I've always had a thing for the fool, particularly Lear's fool . . .

Have you ever read "Fool" by Christopher Moore, which he based on King Lear's fool, in his own quirky and inimitable style? Not to be missed, like most of his work.

It is hilarious, and yet respectful in its own way. I recommend it highly.

Yes! I love Christopher Moore's books. Haven't read any of those in a while, but they're so funny :D

Yay, another Christopher Moore fan! I absolutely love his work, and have managed to track down almost all of them.

My girlfriend Lesley turned me onto him by lending me "The Island of the Sequined Love Nun" and "Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove," which was quite an introduction!

My favorite is "Fluke," but that's no surprise, as I studied whales for many years.

Lol yeah Fluke is awesome, so surreal and goofy...

Funny, too, that I posted one of my own poems a while back, called "If I Were a Tarot Card, I'd Be the Fool."

I'm interested in your take, if you care to have a look. ;-)

Oh cool! I will check it out <3

You got a 2.41% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bennettitalia!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

A brave warrior spends more time preparing for the battle than actually running towards it. Thanks!

Ha! Yes. Without taking the danger into account, it becomes foolhardiness.

Bravery is listening
To the still small voice of fear
Taking its hand
Walking with it
Along the edge of the cliff

One eye on the path ahead
One on the abyss.

I love this!!! I've only done the freewrite a couple of times, and never thought of doing it in poem form. Really enjoyed your writing.

Thank you @katrina-ariel! I love doing the freewrites, it pushes me just a little bit and takes my writing in new, playful directions. It's actually where The Strangeling series started. Sometimes I do short fiction, sometimes poetry... Sometimes I do two entries, one for The Strangeling, and one to "warm up", if I'm feeling nervous!

I love your poetry and the thoughts match the art so well.
I fully identify with this part.

Taking its hand
Walking with it
Along the edge of the cliff.

I faced that cliff, and survived. I guess that makes me brave.

I think so. Facing danger in full awareness is a completely different thing from facing it in obliviousness. I'm so glad you survived @wandrnrose7 :)

I've been a tarot reader for pretty much my entire adult life (see this post for a story about tarot: https://steemit.com/life/@bennettitalia/witches-past-lives-and-recurring-dreams-a-true-story), so the motifs on The Fool card are ones I am very familiar with... really the card was the prompt for me this time around! :D

Ahhh now I understood <3 :) thank you. I'm glad I survived, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75