Day 129: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: fingernail

in #freewrite6 years ago

Here's my Day 129: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: fingernail



Image Source

Her fingernail was quarter the size of mine. Her hand tiny, wrapping around my finger. Her pink face searching mine, her eyes the exact replica of her father. That smile, toothless and sweet. Her peach fuzz hair so soft to touch, her scent so fresh and clean you could smell it for days. This was my daughter. My sweet, daughter.

She cooed as she looked up at us as I held her in my arms. My husband kisses the top of my head and continues looking in awe at our daughter, the daughter we created, that looked so much like him. Those sweet eyes, button nose and careful smile. The interest of everything around her as long as she was in the safety of my arms.

I laid her down carefully in her crib hoping for a good nights sleep but didn't mind if one wasn't in our future because this was the day I had longed for, the day I had waited for for so long, and it was here in front of us. I smiled and looked to my husband, his eyes so full of love and heart and knew that the future we held together was one that I wouldn't give up or change for anything in the entire world. This was our life.

I woke to my husband calling my name... just a dream. I sighed and smiled. One day.


Visit @mariannewest and join the #freewrite community!

Use the Prompt
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Want more info? Visit the introductory page

@Bleedinheart

Sort:  

Awwa that is a wonderful freewrite!!!! Thanks for sharing.

Haha, thanks! Glad you liked it!

The words you put together bring back memories of my Little Ones first day (ahh - so beautiful but there goes the sleep...) The twist at the end is just a touch sad - you want that day to be it... Well done!

Thank you so much! I can imagine there would be little to no sleep after that but the beauty and love being worth it :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!! Thanks so much for reading!

I'm the first of six, and my parents used to say: "When they're newborn, they're so beautiful you would like to eat them; when they grow up, you regret not having eaten them!" ;)

I drop here today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-130-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-wasps

Bahahaha omg! That is so funny!!! Thank you SO much for that much needed laugh! And the prompt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58