Day 136: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: belt

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Here's my Day 136: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: belt



Image Source

The sun peaked through the curtain as I stepped beside the mirror. Ever since I was younger I couldn't dress in front of the mirror. I envied those who could, who looked and saw what everyone else saw, someone beautiful, who has so much confidence that they could look at themselves and not find the flaws that so many of us see in ourselves. No I dressed beside it. I made sure that I couldn't see what it was that made me who I am.

I wrapped my belt through the loops of my jeans - something I rarely wear. I clasp it together and I take it all the way to the last hole - the first time I ever had been able to do this since high school. Back in high school I made myself thin. I did everything in my power to make sure I was thinner, that I didn't go into high school how I was in grade school. I couldn't go through the torment of being fat.

He wraps his arms around me from behind and kisses my neck. "You look beautiful as always." he whispers in my ear. I smile and lean my head back against his shoulder. I feel the prettiest in his arms. "Jeans? I love the way you look in jeans" he says, his hands slipping to my hips.

I laugh, "You mean something other than my leggings?" I grin and turn to face him in his arms.

"I'll take either. You gorgeous either way." He says with a smile, placing a small kiss on my lips. He knows my torment. He knows the way my mind works. I will forever see myself as the little fat kid. But in his arms? In his eyes... I see myself the way I should - the way he sees me. Beautiful.


Visit @mariannewest and join the #freewrite community!

Use the Prompt
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Want more info? Visit the introductory page

@Bleedinheart

Sort:  

Ugh. The importance people put on body image and the ways some are shamed for being different... Glad this story has such a warm ending :) Love overcomes all, and all that jazz ;)

Haha, yes love does overcome all and all that jazz! And yes, it is a shame. Its something we cant get away from and stares back at you every time your reflection is present. Thanks for reading!!

glitter bomb of happy! :)

Hahahaha i love that!!

It is hard for a woman - all of the social pressures can make or break us. It is great that love has helped her to overcome this, to start seeing the woman inside. Well written and very descriptive. You'll have most women who read this empathizing with the girl in the story (I know I do!).

Good to hear! I wanted to make it clear how i feel/felt on the daily. It is so hard being a woman and fighting it daily. Luckily that man in the story is my husband and knowing how he thinks of me helps. But they say, "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" so... thanks for reading! I am glad you can relate!

:'(

I so wish I could have been there to help you not feel like this ever.

I love that you wish that! My mom was actually okay during that time. She tried, so did dad, but something like that is just so hard... I still fight it on the daily. The numbers on the scale taught me. I know Im not fat, but I know I am not where I want to be. What sucks is I dont think I ever will be. Its about accepting me as me. That... i can work on :) and I have you now!

A friend of mine has had to deal with her body image since high-school and still does. It is hard, but in the end it is not a problem of weight, but of attitude and self-confidence. Having someone to bolster that confidence sure helps. Very emotional writing!
And here is the new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-137-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-witches

You are so right! Its in the eye of the beholder. You are what you believe you are, thats sometimes so hard. Thanks for the prompt!

Oh the curse of how harsh we are with ourselves!!!But it is good to have the anchor who can show the real picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55