Day 76: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: ducks - My Entry

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

freewritebanner2.jpg

“Mr. Kruger, come on now you know there’s nothing to worry about.” the nurse told the old man. As she pushed him along the pathway he kept flinging his arms about while screaming “ducks!”. Every time they came close to the ducks that lived around the fountain area he would just throw a fit!

Most of the other patients loved the ducks but for some reason old man Kruger couldn’t stand them.

She heard he used to be famous for some kind of work he did for the government. He was some kind of secret weapon guy or something. Anyhow, ever since he had the stroke “ducks!” seems to be the only thing he knows how to say.

As the nurse finishes her morning walk with Mr. Kruger she takes him back to his room and heads to the employee lounge for a break. On the TV is a news story about a new avian flu mutation in ducks that seems to have jumped species to humans. She shrugs and changes the channel to watch something more interesting.

Check out @mariannewest for some quality content;

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-76-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-ducks

Title image is my original work

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Intriguing! I love it when a story leaves me thinking about what might happen next. Great post!

Thank you very much :-) Something tells me that whatever happens next will somehow involve ducks.

Now that's brilliant. Everything a short story should be.

That's a very nice compliment. I've been having a lot of fun with the freewrite. Always a challenge to pull a coherent story out of it.

I just read a few of your other freewrites. You seem to have something of a talent for the short and sweet. Exactly the way I like it.

Thank you :-) Still learning to be sure. I'll probably keep doing the freewrite for a while as I'm working on my next series.

Great work, as always, @btcnoodle! :)) Happy New Year!

Cool! I just noticed you have some new stuff posted. I'm going to check it out.

Thanks! I haven't been posting much with Christmas, New Year's, kids out of school :)). Should be back to posting more now :)

Thank you! Always nice to hear from you. So far the new year is treating me well.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @btcnoodle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.45% vote... I was summoned by @btcnoodle! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48