One Last Try

in #freewrite5 years ago

onelasttry-2203736_1920.jpg

I pulled myself across the floor, my fingers digging into the crevice between the half-rotted floorboards, the smell of mildew making me gag yet again. My right arm was completely useless, broken and hanging lifelessly from my shoulder, but my left still had a little life in it.

I could see the pizza just sitting there. The cheese hardened and cold, the teeth marks from the rats nibbling on it in the dark.

I’d finally managed to chase them away when I threw my shoes at them after screaming did nothing to make them leave.

It was almost in my grasp. My mouth was watering for the first time in days. I was hungry enough that even the stale pepperoni pizza sitting in a pile of dust and grime looked like a feast to me.

I reached out as far as I could, my muscles straining, my ankle still caught in the trap. I could touch it, feel the crust with the tips of my fingers. I screamed out in frustration… although it came out as more of a whisper. There was nothing left of me. No more energy, I needed that food.

I pushed with my free leg, feeling the iron from the shackles digging into my already raw ankle. I pushed, pulled, cried out in frustration. I felt something running down my ankle. Blood seeping into the dried wood of the floor.

It made things slick, just a little. I pushed again, feeling the skin peeling, tearing from the edge of the metal cuff around my ankle, but it had some give. I pushed again, ignoring the tearing pain as my skin was pulled from my bones.

Just a little further, just a little bit more…

My fingers wrapped around the crust and I started to cry. Pulling the cold, hard pizza to my lips, I took a bite. Then another.

I felt energy slowly coming back, just a thread of hope was what I had needed. My ankle throbbing, I sat up, bringing that one single piece of pizza with me, gnawing on it like it was a glorious feast.

My mind focused. Honed in on the broken door where the sunlight peeked in through the cracks. The dust motes floating in the stale air. The soft tapping of my blood dripping to the floor as I waited. And ate.

I had the energy to try. One more time. One last effort, one last push to free myself and if I failed... a sob caught in my throat.

No need to go there. I would be free. I had to be. I couldn't take another day of this.

My heart sank as I heard footsteps outside the door. The door crashed in and he stumbled into the doorway, the sunlight creating a halo around him as if he were an angel or an otherworldly being. I shrank into the corner, trying to disappear.

It was too late. Too late for anything.

He laughed, his dry, crusty laugh and my world crumbled around me.


If you enjoy my writing, you can get a collection of my short stories for free here (As well as some other free suspense books)

A Taste of Darkness

1562037637.png

Photo Source 1 & 2

Sort:  

Wow. How dark! How hopeless. Who was he who did you in? Did he break your hand? Ouch. What bastard! )

Those freewrite prompts almost always seem to bring out my dark side!

Oh man I wish this weren't so good because it's so creepy. I can almost feel the metal on my ankle.

This is magnificent! Love the suspense! I'm rooting for her last ounce of strength to save her. !tip

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @byn! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @wandrnrose7!

@wandrnrose7 wrote lately about: The Last Night Feel free to follow @wandrnrose7 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

A scary writing;)

Nice to see you again @byn! I love your imagery with every little detail that peaks all of my senses. I can feel her pain and suffering and I hope she survives somehow.

Resident cat here, hoping I don't get a shock while delivery today's new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-628-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-frayed-power-cord

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

Wow that was both scary and exciting @byn, and it felt very real, well done it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Oh how I’ve missed reading your stories...

Harrowing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98