You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Mother's Day! (5 Minute Freewrite... introducing my Kids)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Until this conversation, I don't think I'd realized how much they took a hold of that. Now to be fair, I am HORRIBLE about any type of regular tradition. At least since they got a little older. We barely even celebrate holidays at all, we've skipped Christmas altogether for most of the last 5-10 years. So I'm really glad to realize that we did have some traditions... we just didn't really think of them as such!

Sort:  

Haha, we have a lot in common. I am not good at traditions either. I feel like I am trying too hard and my heart really isnt in it because it is just another job for me to do. The kids seem to love it though, and I feel like it is worth it after the fact.
As they get older though, it seems easier to do the activities, since they can help a lot more and I can delegate jobs to them, so I can actually enjoy the tradition rather than go nuts and stress out because a 'holiday' means five thousand little tasks for me to do!

One tradition we recently started is painting class for my daughter and myself. Its at the library, and it is only every other month, but we both love it! We can get away from chores and the boys and just paint. It is great, but I need to find something to do with my sons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71