You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 210: 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: tree

in #freewrite6 years ago

I should probably mention that in real life, I'm the one who bought that white pine, and I don't if it's Pinus East or Pinus West - just that it's taking a beating from those sawflies. For a third summer in a row. Chemical dump, or cut down the tree? In the years since I foolishly bought it, I've learned a lot about native species and the hidden costs (not just financial!) of bringing in exotics.

Sort:  

Yep. Plants that shouldn't be where they are rarely do well. I'm pretty interested in nature in general and actually used to work in a charity in the environmental sector so I know a bit about invasive plant species. I once had to take a day course on japanese knotweed. It was interesting for the first 4 hours then got a little much lol

Knotweed!! Eep! Thank heaven we've been spared knotweed and kudzu, but garlic mustard is the bane of my existence. Our natives can be bad enough: poison ivy (native!), greenbriar, and lots of scratchy, thorny, awful things that stick to dogs and shirts. (Why am I not surprised you did charity work --in the environmental sector !)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91