The Back Forty (not 44) -

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 375: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: forty-four


source

Forty-four

sounds good to me, the consonance of the F's, the rhyming of the -or, ore, -our, the chaos of the spelling.

Fourteen and Forty

confused me all the days of my life until I turned 44 and made up my mind to get it right. I also started filling out the year in the checkbook for the next 20 checks so that when the new year turned over, I wouldn't still be writing, out of habit, the previous year when paying bills.

Computers, the internet, and online billing have spared me a lot of that numerical nonsense.

The Back 40

is a familiar phrase to farmers, but The Back 44 is not.

My 4 x4 Scout II was great fun

until someone saw it in the parking lot and offered to buy it, and I sniff! sold my beloved four-wheel-drive. It was a gas hog, it had been vandalized, it was rusting out, but that V-8 engine was to die for.

source
No, that's not my Scout, but finding photos in my old files is not gonna happen in five minutes.

The mystery of 4, 44, 444 and 4444

is beyond my cranial capacity to comprehend.

"The number 4 derives its meaning from creation," I've heard. I might have read more on the matter, but none of it registered in my brain, and none of it stuck even if I did "get it" at the time.

"And on the fourth day God said let there be--"

Uh-oh. I have to google it. Right now! Are my five minutes up?

On the second day, God created the sky.
On the third day, God created the land, the oceans and all the plants.
On the fourth day, God created the sun, moon and stars.
On the fifth day, God created the birds, fishes and other sea creatures.
On the sixth day, God created all the land animals and people.
On the seventh day, God rested.


My husband is partial to 7,

and at age seven he would mutter a little mantra:

Sev-sev--sev--sev--sev--sev--seven.

Number Nine

stays in my head thanks to the Beatles, and I love this You-Tube genius who gives us nine minutes of "Number Nine":

I got nothing for 444 or 4444, so I'm googling it. Here you go:


source: Intuitive Journal

The word God appears 4444 times in the KJV of the Bible.

And my five minutes are up.

You are free to go forty-forth.


source

Sort:  

It was fun to see all of the different avenues one number took you on and I was compelled to give you an upvote at my 44%. LOL! I won't take exit 44 but I will take exit 444 because I love angels. : )

Oh, man, a 44% upvote!
I tried the slider once, and tried to sign on for auto-upvote, but this Disclaimer: STOP! Do you know what you're doing? freezes me every time. So, I give away a 100% upvote and run out of power fast. Every day. Thanks for reading, @whatisnew, AND upvoting so cleverly!

OMG! I did the same thing with trying to sign up for auto-upvote and I froze too. Yes, power does run out fast, especially when delivering the prompts.

Delivering the prompt doesn't necessitate an upvote, right? So how does that use up power? If posting a comment drains power, no wonder I run out before noon every day!
Thanks for the delivery and for the confession that YOU TOO freeze up at that warning from auto-upvote!

No, it is not necessary to give an upvote when I deliver a prompt but that is what I like to do. Upvotes of any kind, whether it be a post or a comment drains my power so fast that I can't even upvote a nice comment any more. Leaving a comment without an upvote only takes away from your RC's, not your power.

Uh-oh.
Leaving a comment without an upvote takes away from your RC's -
I comment without upvoting every day after I run out of upvote power.
What is my RC, and how worthless is mine by now.... eep!

RCs: 591B / 99.47%
Hey!
My upvote power is back up to 97% right now!
and whatever my RC is, it's in the safe zone. For now.
Thanks for this info and thanks for the upvotes and prompt deliveries, @whatisnew!

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

We don't really use cheques in Europe anymore but I used to do the same thing when the year turned, write twenty cheques ahead so I'd have the correct year.
It's the midweek prompt delivery team here with your challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-376-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiny

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks for reading and for delivering the prompt, @deirdyweirdy!

Where o where has @deirdyweirdy gone?

I was wondereing the same thing!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97