5 Minute Freewrite - Day 111 - Dream

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

This story is in response @mariannewest 's prompt for day 111 of her 5-minute freewrite challenge. Today's prompt was dream.


I had a dream, which became a reality, which became a nightmare.

I had a dream of travelling to the stars. To seek out new life, to boldly go where no man or woman has gone before. But the reality was nothing like Jean-Luc Picard sitting in his suave leathery chair on the deck of the Starship Enterprise. The reality was a tube. Full of liquid. My body floating inside it. Awake. Because their damn sleepy drugs didn't work on me.

Houston, we have a problem.

Except no one was listening, nor cared.

Dark. Completely dark. How long had it been? No way to tell. How inaccurate is it to mark the passage of time by the onset of panic attacks? Anyways, I'd lost count of those too. It had been long enough that the terror had subsided. Resignation now came and went with my sanity, in waves.

Space is a void, and I'd fallen into it.

Sort:  

well, Thank Goodness this will NOT be the last thing I read before sleep!!!!!!!!

Yup, I can see the nightmares already! LOLLLLLLLL

Great freewrite!!

I have never wanted to avoid space travel more than when I was reading this! That sounds like my worst nightmare!!! You did a little too good with the visuals here!

I’m also helping out with prompt delivery today! If you want, here is today’s #freewrite prompt

@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54