5 Minute Freewrite (Day 113) - Prompt: ski

in #freewrite6 years ago

This story is in response @mariannewest 's prompt for day 113 of her 5-minute freewrite challenge. Today's prompt was ski


There is a place in New Brunswick called Magnetic Hill. For some set of reasons pertaining to the angle of the road relative to the surrounding angles, the hill appears to be slanting upwards but is in actual fact slanting downwards. Magnetic Hill is one of the biggest attractions in New Brunswick (it's a province made up of mostly forest and moose -which are also great reasons to visit). If you park your car at the bottom (top) of magnetic hill and put your car in neutral, prepare to be amazed as your car seems to magically roll uphill!

Now imagine taking this mind-blowing optical illusion to the next level by taking that trippy ride on skis rather than wheels? Imagine the sensation of appearing to slide (rather than roll) uphill. Well, I want to go there, folks. I want to go to Magnetic Hill, strap on a pair of cross-country skis and experience that one-of-a-kind rush. It's only four hours away... and snow is in the forecast (snow is always in the forecast in New Brunswick).

Guess what I'm doing this weekend?

Sort:  

Sounds awesome! You should definitely go check out the Magnetic Hill and write a Steem post documenting your experience!

Here is my response to today's prompt:


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-113-ski


Let me know what you think =)

OHhhhhhh I hope this is a true story and you are going!! take lots of photo's to show if you do!!

I think I saw a video of that..crazy stuff! I wonder if it could be done with a snowboard too :-)

Welcome to the weekend freewrite banquet! Another seven days have passed in a blink and every day we grow stronger thanks to the energy of our limitless creativity! But let’s just cut to the chase, here is the menu that our master chef @mariannewest has expertly prepared for us:
Delicatessen #1 – Single prompt option
Delicatessen #2 – Weekend freewrite in three parts: 1- 2 - 3

There's an area not far from me that is similar. There are many similar "legends". I hope you do go. I would. 😃

The magnetism of this blog drew me to it even though I was desperately fighting to go the other way. Do you have the personality to match? I sure can't tell by the shadowy looks of your photo 🤔.

That was a great freewrite! And almost everyone else here loves my corny attempts at humor so if you hang around you might have to get used to it lol.

that sounds wonderful!! I love cross-country skying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55