The Weekend Freewrite 24 Feb 2018 - The Betrayal

in #freewrite6 years ago

puppeteer_234546.jpg
Source

I had this system for getting exactly what I wanted out of people.

Very early on, I 've learnt that power comes from not what you know but who you know.

Everyone tries to suck up to the big guys. The guys up top pulling the strings. They risk it all just to have a face to face with those guys only to be treated like trash. No different from lost marbles in the sandbox.

But I learnt something way more valuable. You see, those guys pull the strings, but the guys on the ground do the deed.

These are the guys no one takes a second look at. These are the guys that are expandable and not "important".

But to me, they're a goldmine of information. And information - is power. Society seems to undermine them and ignore them but I treat them the way they deserve.

I treat them with respect and I reward them with what they actually deserve. I promise them safety and comfort.

In return, those guys up top may pull the strings, but not without my knowledge or approval


images.jpeg
Source

He was skating on thin ice - that's all I can say.

You ask why I had to take such drastic measure?

There is a delicacy in what I do. I provide these people - these nobodies - with all they ask for, all I ask for is trust.

The success of my operations depend on me staying under the radar from those guys up top. A slip-of-the-tongue from anyone could jeoperdize this empire I've built for myself.

So, you tell me? Did I go overboard? Of course I did!

I had to use him as an example to the rest. I provide you and your kind with carrots, but I mustn't let you forget that I have a big stick close behind as well.

It's not just him as well! His team, his friends, or anyone close to him! None of them can be trusted anymore. I had to do what I had to do. I had to make sure they all got detention over summer break.

Would I do it again? In a heartbeat...


71aef4997765a9dc6c0f3ac0e54a0bdd.jpg
Source

The day Sheila brought Hilary to my office.

That was when it all started. There was no one on the playground I trusted more than Sheila. Our moms have been yoga buddies since before either of us were born.

So, saying it took me by surprise that she would bring Hilary to my office was an understatement. Everyone knew that Hilary was an outcast. She was the worst of the worst. A snitch. A rat. A - dare I say it - teacher's pet. What could she be doing here?

"There's something big going down. Mrs. Smith got a sniff of your underground Pokemon card battles and it's going all the way up top to the principal"

"Impossible! I have the operation sealed air-tight. Why would anyone snitch? Everyone loves those battles! And why would you tell me that? Why would you help me?"

"I may be what I am. But there's a limit to how low I can go. I may love the teachers, but not as much as I love Pokemons."

"But who....?"

"Who else? Think about it. Who knows you and your operations better than anyone else?"

"Impossible, he's like a brother to me. We built this whole business together. He would never. Unless...."


Imgur


The story above is for the Weekend Freewrite challenge by @mariannewest. Today's prompts were:

(1) I had this system for getting exactly what I wanted out of people.
(2) He was skating on thin ice - that's all I can say.
(3) The day Sheila brought Hilary to my office.

It's quite a fun challenge, especially when using a tool like THE MOST DANGEROUS WRITING APP. The app forces you to continuously write for the set amount of time or everything you wrote will disappear after a few seconds! Try it out!


follow_chuazm.gif

Sort:  

Nice writing @chuazm, wasn't expecting it to twist towards Pokemon at the end :o)

Ha! Getting burned like by a Charizard! Thanks for the surprise ending!!

Today your prompts are being delivered by a young, spindly legged Gerenuk who has recently moved to the town of Freewrite. (We handed him the bag, told him it was tradition that each new resident upheld, then went to luau!)

Freewrite Day 129 - Fingernail

Thanks! Actually from the first prompt, I already had an image of of the character being an edgy middle school kid, thinking that he's some bigshot in school. As adults, we would look into it as kids playing make belief. But I remember when we were kids ourselves, we really fell into the whole school system of nerds, jocks, geeks, cheerleaders, outcasts etc and to us, that was how the world worked!

very cool freewrite!! Congrats on doing your first weekend one!!!

Thanks! Although I've already fell out of the daily ones, I think I'll be doing more of the weekend ones. The anticipation for the followup prompts and having to think about how to take it into an interesting twist while keeping the story consistent is actually pretty fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89