Though The Path May Be Undesirable You Can Count On Me To Travel It With You - Blockchain Coffee “Manipulation”

in #freewrite5 years ago

When thinking of the word “manipulation“ there is a preconceive notion of it being an undesirable situation. Someone manipulating you almost always means for their benefit and not yours. It doesn’t have to be this way, often I practice my skills of manipulation for the sake of others benefit.

It’s like being a parent in a way, if you want dessert clear off that plate otherwise you’ll just be hungry again in an hour. It’s hard to see as the child the benefit but it’s definitely there and it is not really a manipulative benefit of the parent to force the child to eat all their dinner.

At work, I consistently have to manipulate the work force for maximum efficiency. I convince people to work the jobs to which they do well and in return end up taking on the jobs no ones wishes to do. Sure I wish to get out of work, but this should be a mutual interest of all the coworkers not just my intentions. Therefor manipulation of the work force is not solely my benefit even though being fully at my detriment having to pickup the slack.

But Why?

That is best answered with a view of my journey on Steem, a place where I have put time and energy in often when not knowing whether the results will be positive or not.

It’s just who I am, always trying to manipulate those I interact with to make the best choices for the platform as a whole versus what will momentarily benefit them. Making those choices for myself and taking the correct actions has far surpassed the reward given say I had done the opposite and only chased the rewards.

In short, it all depends on the manipulators intentions.

One thing is for certain, though the path may be undesirable you can count on me to travel it with you!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Look For The 5-Min #FreeWrite Daily Prompt On @MarianneWest’s Blog

Look For The Author Reading #FreeRead Weekly Contest On @FreeWriteHouse’s Blog

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Support Us With Your Vote!

#OneLoveDTube Community Main Page

#OneLoveIPFS Subscription Page

#OneLoveDTube Uploader

Free Use #Press-Kit

Have You Tried @Pariko Yet? Download On iOS/Android Here

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Get Paid For Daily Activities! Download @ActiFit Fitness Tracker On iOS/Android Here

Get Paid To Play! Join The Drug Wars Here



Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Excellent examples and good manipulation with the intent to help others is a wonderful motive! To success for the steemverse!

Posted using Partiko Android

Steem to Mars 💪😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bei Manipulation ist es wie bei allen anderen diesbezüglichen Sachen.
Derjenige, der es ausübt, entscheidet über positive oder negative Aktionen.
Bei Waffen ist es dasselbe:
Nicht die Waffen sind schlecht, oder negativ, sondern Derjenige, der abdrückt entscheidet, in welchem Zusammenhang er abdrückt.
Immer ist esder Mensch, der über positiv oder negativ entscheidet, egal welches Werkzeug er dafür benutzt!

👍 Exactly! ❤️

Very entertaining freewrite, though when used in relation to bending others to your will, manipulation always has negative connotations no matter what the intentions of the manipulator.

It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery operatives here with the open and shut prompt for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-649-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-opens-a-lot-of-doors

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Always appreciate the prompt drop ❤️

What if my will is what the will of the individual should be, not just from my perspective, from the perspective of the grand plan? 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well m'dear, if you believe in the grand plan, then manipulation is futile.;)

Manipulation is manipulation even in the case of your example to make your child eat. There might be a very good reason why it refuses to eat.
Children still listen to their instinct/body adults don't.

I was forced to eat honey.
I could not. Quess what? I turned out to be allergic to it.

Small chance it will die for hunger. My youngest did not and lived, after I stopped breastfeeding) on air next to pancakes and french fries (no sauce) for the first 8 years of her life. Still a problematic eater.
Quess what? She is the most healthiest one of all. Tall, slim, high IQ (so no brain damage).
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL well I was referring more to the situation then to the reason behind the situation, parents should always have some sense of intuition about the sort of stuff. There are contexts to which manipulation, albeit in perspective of the larger picture, is actually a positive despite being a momentary disturbance.

There is such a thing as the gentle hand of manipulation but being forced is whole other subject 😉

Okay the gentle hand it is.. A push or suggestion instead of manipulation and force. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Well if you think of it is not that suggestion just by the mere act of implying it is in itself a manipulation?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess I know I can count on you. Manipulation it's a thing i don't like to do, but as you says as a mother sometimes I have to manipulate my girls to eat, especially with my 1 year baby.

It’s a finicky thing when kids decide they don’t like something, happens young and stops happening in older age. If you keep trying you can grow to like but not if you first developed a dislike as a child, at least I read somewhere 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.75% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

👌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I have been aware of the upside of manipulation for several years, now. I am a writer (or like to think that I am, anyway), and writing is a form of manipulation. Do I want you to cry? Well, do you want to cry? Doesn't matter. You have chosen to read my very sad book in which a puppy dies a horrible death, and a child is abandoned at Disneyland, and the hero leaps from a tiled roof to sweep his loved one out of the path of the runaway train, only to be smashed to bits when--after depositing her safely on a large tree branch--he is unable to halt his back swing and is obliterated by the same train. When your tears trickle from eye to chin, you will have been manipulated. Is this a bad thing? Presumably, it is not. Sure, perhaps you picked up my book, titled Every Sad Thing in the Universe Working as One, and thought, Hmm, must be a comedy, I need a laugh. But if that is the case, then your ability to predict content from vocabulary clues leaves something to be desired. No, what I assume by your paying $35.95 (it is to cry) for the hardback copy of my fictitious tome is that you have interpreted the clues correctly and decided that you want to be sad. That is, you want to be manipulated.

When I was a teen, I was in a circus. (No, I am not manipulating you to make you feel disbelief; I really was in a circus.) I did this one act called rolling globe. At one point in the performance, I walk my globe up and over a teeter totter and up a ramp to a platform. I pause, contemplating the next step. The next step is, literally, a step--four or five, in fact. I'm balanced on top of a large globe. I look at the steps that I'm supposed to negotiate. I look out at the audience, fear in my eyes, check out those steps again, take a halting step/roll forward, pause . . . and cross myself. The audience--manipulated--bursts out laughing. (Nothing kills comedy deader than describing it.)

Few things in the world are entirely black or entirely white. Manipulating your child to eat, well, even that might not be as black as wakeupkitty would have us believe. The example given involved being allergic to something. But what if you aren't allergic to any kind of food? And what if, in addition, you hate vegetables. Should your parents just say, "Ah, well, the kid hates vegetables. I guess there's nothing we can do about that"? That is not the dialogue I would write.

By the way, I might have manipulated you, the reader of this comment. In the first paragraph, I wrote: "I am a writer (or like to think that I am, anyway)." If you assumed from that that I was trying to be self-deprecating, then I successfully manipulated you, because that was precisely what I was trying to make you think. Whether I am as humble as that comment might imply (or as arrogant as this comment might imply) is irrelevant, I wrote it specifically to make my reader, you, think that I am a modest, unassuming bloke. (No, I'm not British, what makes you think that?)

Before I sign off, let me provide this as balance: Manipulating someone to do your job because you're too lazy to do it, to think that you are oh-so in love so that you will get in the will, to get so furious that he/she will attack the person who is annoying you, well, that ain't any kinda good.

Hi @d00k13!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.560 which ranks you at #1981 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 110 places in the last three days (old rank 2091).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 148 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73