Today's 5 Minute Freewrite - Habit

in #freewrite5 years ago

The prompt for today's 5-minute freewrite is: Habit

buenprovecho.jpg

We all have habits. Some good, some not so nice. Focusing on positive habits in our daily lives improves the quality of the day. For instance, the habit of saying hello to people as they pass by, or maybe just smiling. Or holding the door open for someone behind you. I have noticed that when I do these things, it just makes me feel good.

When I first moved to Puerto Rico, there was a habit that everyone seemed to have. The habit here is everytime you pass by someone that is eating you say "Buen provecho!" or in other words, "Enjoy your meal!" The proper thing to reply is "Gracias" or "Thank you" This is such a custom here, that if you do not say it, it is almost considered rude. I have come to appreciate this habit. I have noticed how when I say this especially to older ones, or people who are alone, they truly appreciate it. They look up and smile and that makes me feel good. It is such a small act, but one that I have joyfully for me has become a habit.

I deliberately try to develop positive habits hoping that my effort rubs off on those around me, especially my kids. I know that if I instill in them the habit of being kind to others even in small things, it will not only benefit them now but also their future relationships.

You can learn more about daily freewrite by @marrianewest here https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-396-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-habit

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Good manners are very important and when we make them a habit we sure can make people happy. Good job with your kids!

I acomletely agree, Thanks for stopping by!

That is a very nice habit to have and I’m sure people appreciate it.
It’s the promptest of prompt delivery teams here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-397-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-passenger

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you so much for following us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64