Today's 5 Minute Freewrite - Medicine

in #freewrite5 years ago

Although I do believe there is a time where medicine is beneficial, I have to say I usually lean towards a more natural approach.

Our world is amazing. Our bodies are amazing. Food plays a huge part in how we feel and how efficiently our bodies work. Many foods can be used to help us heal naturally. They cost way less than medicine, and don't have any of those horrible side effects.

When I was younger, I had a bad fall. This has caused me to have bad back pain for years. Therapy has helped, but the pain is always there. I was tired of taking medications. I did not like the side effects.

I started drinking turmeric tea. Turmeric has incredible benefits, one of which us anti-inflammatory. I was amazed at how well it works. I try to take turmeric everyday in some form. My 2 favorite ways are golden milk, and turmeric tea. Both of these teas have worked wonders for me. I definitely feel the difference if I skip a day. Thanks to this I do not depend on the long list of medicine I used to take.

If you enjoy teas, and the benefits of natural ingredients, give these a try.

GOLDEN MILK
1 cup milk (almond or coconut)
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp ginger
Dash of pepper
Honey to taste

Heat all ingredients enjoy.
I like to drink this in the evening. Great for a restful sleep.

TURMERIC TEA
2 cups water
1 tsp of fresh ginger
1 cinnamon stick
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
Dash of cayenne pepper
Juice of 1 lemon

Simmer all ingredients except for lemon for about 5 minutes. Add lemon juice.
Tastes great hot or cold.
This tea is a great morning tea. Bonus- also good for detox😉

This post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest
Check it out!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-404-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-medicine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Both sounds delicious!! I use Turmeric a lot in cooking and used to make tea - then, I got out of the habit. I think you just inspired me to get back into the habit :)

It's a good habit to have. So many benefits!

Posted using Partiko Android

I take tumeric everyday, but in capsule form.

It's our "broke" resident mailman Bruni, delivering today's prompt ✉️
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-405-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-broke

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05