Day 161: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: yellow

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

DSC00316.JPG
I took this photo in the Fall, but it is yellow so it fit the prompt and it reminds me of what is in store for us as Spring seems to have sprung!

Even though there are still dead brown leaves left over from Fall, it is now breaking into Springtime here in Alabama and soon everything will burst out into beautiful colors. We already have seen many of the flowering trees like Pear and Redbuds blooming, so soon they will be followed by dogwoods, Cherries and all of the other fruit trees. I found out last year that the Rose of Sharon tree blooms were not only edible, but they were delicious! So I'm really looking forward to having that treat available all Summer long as I have several trees already on my property and I planted a couple of more about a month ago. I can only eat from the trees in the backyard though, my wife forbids me from stealing her blooms out of the front yard.

download.jpg

To me, the Rose of Sharon blooms when chopped up and sauteed added a taste very similar to Mushrooms, so I used them as a sauce over beef dishes, that is if I could get them in the house without eating them raw. I used the Rose of Sharon to add color to salads or other dishes also, things just seem to taste better when you have the visual delight added to the smell and taste. One thing that I want to try this year is to remove the pistil and stuff the inside with some type of dip, I saw a photo online where someone had done this and it made a beautiful platter of hors d'oeuvres.

The first things that I will start gathering out of the yard for my salads and for breakfast are the fresh dandelions that will be springing up everywhere. Again, it is not politically correct to let them grow in the front yard, but the backyard is my domain and I love these hardy plants that produce all Summer long. They do add bitter to salads if you like that sort of thing, but my favorite way to eat them so far is baked with mild sausage for breakfast. I know that sounds weird, and as far as I can tell it is my own original creation, but I just can't get enough of them and last year I had them at least three times a week. I chop them up as small as is easy to manage with a paring knife, I put a little oil in an oven-safe pan, then the chopped Dandelion greens, then on top of the greens I add some Stevia sweetener along with salt, pepper and about a teaspoon or so of honey. Then right on top of the greens, I place however many sausage patties I want, cover the pan with foil and bake it on around 400 F until the sausage is done. I then take a fork or knife and chop up the sausage and mix everything up, if it seems like there is too much moisture or if I'm not satisfied that the sausage is completely cooked (I like it cooked well) I will put it back in the oven without the cover for a few more minutes. I don't know of anyone else who has tried this, so if you're brave enough to give it a go let me know what you think.

.
.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.

Rose of Sharon Photo by leoleobobeo on Pixabay

Over 20 Club Graphic by the ever so talented @fireawaymarmot and personalized for me by @snook
Old' Steem by the most wonderful @snook
.
.
Prompt: yellow

Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Exciting things are on the horizon, visit the Freewritehouse to find out more!

Sort:  

I'm so very hungry now! 🤤 I never knew that you could cook with Rose of Sharon! (I'll be looking up recipes now, thanks Deacon!) It's always so satisfying to be able to eat what we've grown!

Here's Friday's prompt!

Larsy, an ostrich visiting our lovely town, has been kind enough to deliver today's prompt! (Mrs. Toph, thank you for your question! Our answer is, no, your husband may not ride Larsy.)

Freewrite Day 162 - ash

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I love dandelions!! So good!! And my front yard is completely not political correct 🤪

Fortunately, my front yard is tiny and the backyard is huge. 😉

I have never heard of eating the Rose of Sharon tree blooms or eating dandelions either. I am going to start calling you, "Bunny Lee!" My SIL had relatives that made dandelion wine and she said it was some potent stuff. Have a great weekend! : )

Better make it Bull-Lee, Bunny Lee may give people the impression that I have thousands of children scattered across the globe. It's probably better if they know the truth, that I'm full of bull instead of imagining that I'm some kind of superhero. 😎

LOL! Bull-Lee it is. You are my strong, funny bull and my superhero! : )

Great freewrite. It's very heartwarming to eat your own produce.

I love to be able to make a meal right out of the wild things growing in my yard. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55