Entry for Day 443: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: apple

in #freewrite5 years ago

Apples ripe.JPG

My Apple Tree Before Darren Butchered It

badges2.jpg

Thank you to @mariannewest for this challenge:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-443-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-apple

Hi Everyone!

When I saw the prompt 'apple' my mind went first to Apple computers but that was boring for me. Then I remembered my beautiful apple tree that I shared with my neighbour.

The picture above is what the tree was like until my neighbour pruned it.

Now it looks like this:

Butchered plum tree 12.10.JPG

My Apple Tree After it Was Butchered

My neighbour has moved now so I hope my tree will recover.

Thank you for reading my post.

Artstorm Daily header.jpg

Here is a link to contest #58 Day 1 in case you would like to enter:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/artstorm-contest-58-day-1-new-clubs-week-theme-today-music-club

Foodstorm Contest header.jpg

New: The Foodstorm Contest #2:

https://steemit.com/foodstorm/@deemarshall/foodstorm-contest-2-your-chance-to-win-5-steem

The Butterfly Colouring Contest header.jpg

Would you like to enter The Butterfly Colouring Contest #22? Follow this link for the details:

https://steemit.com/butterflycolouring/@deemarshall/the-butterfly-colouring-contest-22

Colourstorm Daily header.jpg

If you'd like to enter the Colourstorm Contest please follow this link:

https://steemit.com/art/@deemarshall/the-colourstorm-game-day-134

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

That was certainly not a good pruning job. People are so weird. Look at a pruning book and do it properly!! Hope the tree will give you lots of apples again!

Thank you, yes, I have fingers crossed for this season.

I have a large “Red Delicious” apple tree that had been bearing incredible tasting apples for over 20 years. Two years ago the city pruned my apple tree very badly, I think probably it was growing to close to the telephone lines, they never explained. Anyways my beautiful apple tree is slowly dying now, because they trimmed it in the fall, and you can’t prune and apple tree in the fall I’ve heard, it breaks my heart to see it go!

Oh, how horrible!! My neighbour didn't know what he was doing either. The city should have had qualified tree surgeons.

I had a person that knows a lot about tree care, explain to me how they damaged my tree. I love my plants very much, I have one large house plant that is about forty years old, the first house plant I ever bought actually, unfortunately I can’t remember the name of it right now. I also have a fig tree that’s about that age.

Wow, that's wonderful! I love houseplants too. I used to chat with a Russian person on here. She didn't like plants of the home as she called them. She said they are dirty but I know that's not true. They replenish the oxygen in our room with clean fresh air.

Ha Ha... that’s strange, I have never talked to anyone that thought houseplants where to dirty to have in your home, pets yes. And I agree with you about replenishing oxygen, maybe she didn’t like the dust that sometimes collects on the leafs.

Could be. I worked with a guy who thought they were dirty too but he had a hang-up about dirt. However, he was a smoker so I used to think about how his body must be full of brown stains inside whenever he kicked off about dirty plants.

Congratulations @deemarshall! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 comments. Your next target is to reach 16000 comments.
You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99