Contagion.

in #freewrite5 years ago


IMG_20190414_161308875_HDR (2).jpg

I am walking to the station to catch a train that will take me home when the wave of nausea hits, sending me crashing to the ground and causing my prawn fried rice lunch to spew forth drenching the lower legs of the group of passers-by who have gathered around me, phones at the ready to record my discomfiture.

As I scramble to my feet the crowd moves back, mouths open, something between horror and amazement evident on their faces as they turn, en masse and flee down the street, tripping over each other in their effort to get away. Looking in the wing mirror of an adjacent car I am horrified to see angry, red, oozing boils covering every inch of my face and neck giving me the look of some extra in the Walking Dead. Behind me, I see six men in Hazmat suits proceeding in my direction, and I cover my face with my scarf and hail a passing taxi. I’ve seen too many deadly pandemic movies to let them take me. I have to get home and work this out with my naturopath.

"I think they've gone," Marie said, her head turned, her breath hot on my ear as she dabbed at my open sores with some of her grandmother’s special concoction. The men in the Hazmat suits had arrived at the house looking for me after I’d fled the scene. Thank gawd for an Irish housekeeper with a natural suspicion of authority and a dismissive disposition. But no, they’d just gone around the back and came bursting through the door, tasers at the ready.

So I’m in the containment centre strapped to a gurney, surrounded by doctors in full biohazard gear poking, prodding and speaking in hushed tones, while one unsuited, earnest-looking individual assures me that the outbreak has already been contained without anyone else being infected and they’ve developed a vaccine with which he has already been treated.

Before I can process this information and what it means for my situation I notice the red mark on his face which, as I stare at it dumbfounded, quickly turns into a boil ready to pop. He looks at me, I look at him and we shriek loudly in unison. Just then, Marie appears brandishing her granny’s balm and begins applying it liberally to his weeping wounds, handing me a mirror to see my now unmarked visage. Thank gawd for an Irish housekeeper with a granny who makes pox-dissolving ointment.

Posted in response to @mariannewest's weekend freewrite challenge
The drawing is my own

Sort:  

Ohhh, why didn't I see this sooner?? Why do I not keep up with all the daily freewrites? I love this, especially the ending! (Thank gawd for an Irish housekeeper with a granny who---- NO SPOILER here!)

Ah sure ye can't keep up with everything. So much stuff so little time!

I absolutely love this! :D These short stories are so refreshing!

Thank you kindly for saying so.

proabably some lucozade with it as well

I'm not certain of the efficacy of rubbing on Lucozade. Have you tried it?

If you drink it Ul be A’s right as rain!! My hot tip of the day , try tia María with lucozade. Fucking glorious

Thank gawd for the Irish! :)

A pity about the prawn fried rice though. I love those little prawns and will dig through until there's none left, and then discard the rice. ;)

Hahaha, yes indeed, gawd bless them! As for prawns, I have no idea where they came from. I've never had even the taste of seafood in my life. The smell was always enough to deter me.

haha! Howdy deirdyweirdy! That was brilliant. You can't beat those herbal remedies! lol.
And is that another breath-taking orginal artwork? Now you're spoiling us rotten!

It's as breathtaking and original as you are m'dear! I hope you have a few of those gold frames left.

haha! If I run out that's no problem deirdyweirdy, I'll have them custom made for your artwork!
Did you move yet?

No, still looking for somewhere to go. It's hard to find anything here, ireland is FULL!

Howdy today deirdyweirdy! Ireland isn't that big is it? It's full and getting fuller. That means the cost of housing gets driven up. you might have to move in with sir blanchy.

Hahahahaha, I'm not sure his wife would be too happy with that!

@deirdyweirdy You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.773 which ranks you at #5016 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 5006).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86