You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ghosts (freewrite)

in #freewrite5 years ago

It's a pity that you didn't reveal why he has done all this. Why did he want to end those lives? Lock them up and don't let them see the sunshine again? So many questions :)

But it's also good that we don't know everything as it makes the story more interesting..

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Sort:  

I thought he intended to SAVE all those lives but never got there in time, and never learned his lesson, but I am notorious for mis-reading and misunderstanding.
You’d think he’s crazy, locking people up and forgetting about them, but that’s not true. He never meant to do that, he was going to save them, at some point.
To me, that adds all the more horror (and irony) to the story.

I get your point. I was also not sure about this story. I thought he might have schizophrenia or some other disease when he kind of does things that he can't explain later.. but I'm also notorious for misunderstanding :)

I tried very hard not to give it up too early, so I just put it in the last phrase that he was a writer and all those people were trapped in his imagination...maybe he was a bit crazy, too...
it happens! Thanks for taking such an interest, I really appreciate that!

I thought he intended to SAVE all those lives but never got there in time, and never learned his lesson, but I am notorious for mis-reading and misunderstanding.
You’d think he’s crazy, locking people up and forgetting about them, but that’s not true. He never meant to do that, he was going to save them, at some point.
To me, that adds all the more horror (and irony) to the story.
And this!
... it’s his fate, his punishment if you want, to wander the halls and face all the ghosts. He can never be free, like they were never set free and whose fault is it?
Eerie story, well written, with wit and dark humor--and surely one that took more than 5 minutes to write, edit, and post--I apprpove! #LoveIt!

I was already nominating it for @Freewritehouse Friday Favorites before I noticed you'd won @curie's attention as well. Congratulations!

Thanks, @carolkean! I did not post it to @mariannewest's traditional challenge as there was no way I could squeeze in any prompt this time!

I understand - but with the Wednesday challenge, I figured you'd earned a mention. Yes, I exceed my bounds - and have been fired from volunteer jobs for it, but I never learn. (Now, a paid job, that's another story. I'm better at following rules and sticking to the limits then!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68