Bitter Goodbyes (Freewrite Prompt: Sunset)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Bitter Goodbyes

I stand in still silence
as colors paint the sky
bitter wind hits my face
wind bitter like the goodbye

Wrapped in scarves and big coats
my mind refuses to obey
red and orange skies behind me
it breaks my heart to walk away

I left my heart in that place
the place I can no longer go
My love, truly, I am sorry
my pride, it's hard to swallow

Tears well up in my eyes
It must be the cold wind
Or maybe the awe and wonder of the sunset
with colors as beautiful as your grin


There's a quote from one of my favorite movies that I absolutely adore; "Beautiful things don't ask for attention." I couldn't help but think of it while I wrote this poem.


Sort:  

This was a lovely poem... I really enjoyed the visuals. Thank you for sharing. I think we've all had better goodbyes.

I left my heart in that place, the place I can no longer go.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @emms! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68