My Two Varieties of People: A Freewrite Post

in #freewrite4 years ago

creativity-819371_1280.jpg

In her #freewrite post, @mariannewest said that there are two varieties of people. There are those who are knowledgeable about computers and technology and then there are those who are not "techy" at all. I said in my comment that I was probably either one of the two. I learnt how to troubleshoot and fix my own computer if it crashes down or if it has a minor glitch, and I have been doing that ever since the dial-up days. If you have not heard of dial-up yet, it's this form of internet connectivity where you have to dial the telephone number of the network provider to establish an internet connection. While you wait for your phone to connect to the internet, you will hear this distinctive sound of beeps and sort of screeching noise coming from the built-in dial-up modem in your computer tower.

But then there are times that I do feel like so stupid when I can't seem to figure out what is wrong with my computer, even when the problem seems to be so minor. When I find out that the solution is just an easy step, then I think to myself, "How did I not even think of that?!" Like if only I could swear, I would have copped a lot of swear words from my own idiotic self. Just like when I was trying to figure out what went wrong with my Google Chrome. I found out it was actually just an easy fix.


Well, I have a different one, closely similar to her categorisation, but mine has something to do with creative writing. For me, there are two varieties of people. There are those people whose creative juices are overflowing that they don't seem to run out of ideas and they can write about any topic. Then, there are those ones that no matter how hard they try, they can't seem to find any inspiration or they lack imagination and creativity to write. I am the latter.

With all the posts I had written so far, don't think that they came so easily to me. It would take me an hour or two, or even more, just to be able to write about something. That's why I love these freewrite exercises because the prompts can give me an idea of where and how to start my post. Otherwise, my mind will always be in a constant battle between writing and procrastinating. I do procrastinate a lot especially when I can't find the enthusiasm and inspiration to come up with something I would consider and evaluate as worthy of sharing or reading. Sometimes I wish I could submit three posts a day consistently but I accept that I do have my limits. I can't stay on my computer for too long. I have to eat, sleep, do housework, tend my garden, and not neglect my husband (the first and last one are the most important).

That's why when I submit a post sometimes, I tend to leave my computer or my phone for a while and then come back to it to start my other activities on #Uptrennd (yes, I'm more active on that platform), such as reading other people's posts and commenting on theirs. Because after writing a post, my brain will have already been drained and it's as if it's experiencing a temporary glitch that only rest and relaxation could fix.

So, I do hope whoever reads this post will understand me and will not hold it against me if I don't respond to their comments straight away. But rest assured that I do read them and also their posts and leave a comment on them as well.

Top Image Sourced from Pixabay

rsz_transparent.png

This is a freewrite exercise using @mariannewest 's word prompts, "two varieties" and "glitch", and @shadowspub 's word prompts, "battle" and "evaluate".

evlachsblogshootingstar1.png

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I need to find the time to do the free-writes, it is a great exercise. You are right the prompt does help when you don't know what to write.

I try to do a freewrite post every day, but it's just too hard. The prompt does help but then sometimes I just can't think of anything to write about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82