Weekend Freewrite 4/14/2018

in #freewrite6 years ago

Join in the fun! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-14-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

What a great feeling to #freewrite again. I admit that I took liberty with the "rules" and read all 3 prompts ahead of time, and then took a long walk before sitting down with my forgiving timer.
barbwire.JPG

Keepers Vs Seekers
by @eyedreemit

Gudrun, the mistress of the Keepers Club, turned to him and pointed her finger. In the silence that followed, the rest of us exchanged knowing glances. She shook her finger gently, and then returned it to the imaginary holster at her side.

He waited stoically for the inevitable response. When she finally spoke after taking in a deep breath, she exhaled, “Go for the kill.”

Lips pursed, he nodded, acknowledging the message or maybe he was only acknowledging that he hadn’t really expected a different response, though he felt it was worth the risk to try.

“Shar, I’d like to look over the results now.”

Shar bolted up from her seat, answering with a “Sure thing!”

Gudrun turned to us with a smile. "I know you understand how confidential this information is.” And then again drawing out her trigger finger, she added, “Please, take some loquats on your way out. They’re fresh from Shar’s tree.”

I still don’t understand how I ended up in The Keepers Club, especially after having previously been on the receiving end of the “Go for the Kill” order. Maybe Gudrun had a selective memory. Perhaps after I had been rescued by the Interventionists she saw a personal benefit to seemingly align herself with the Seekers who were gaining more power.
walking.JPG
I pedaled out of the driveway, knowing that my only way was forward. I could no longer play the middle ground when it was clear that nothing was really going to change, at least not soon enough for me and those I cared about so deeply.

The sun setting on the horizon ahead became by compass point. I pushed on with the prophetic wind filling my ears, feeling exhilarated, electric, and uneasy all at once

Once I came to a stop and the winds were silenced, I could hear a faint hum carrying the notes of birdsong. When I entered the tipi, the cone shaped gathering place where Seekers collide, there was noise, yelling, and shouting. A mug of aromatic tea was thrust into my numb hand, and warm hands and arms clasped by back and shoulders. Knowing grins and smiling eyes surrounded me.

fire.jpg
Almost instantaneously the percussive music began, followed by rhythmic clapping and dancing mixed with looping textures. Taking in the joy, I nearly fell into a chair next to the fireplace hologram, exhausted and relieved.

Our leader, my leader, I realized, sat beside me and asked matter-of-factly, “Are you ready now?”

Loquat reference courtesy of @madpotters.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Sort:  

Are we on a quest, or simply looking inward for answers? Nice read! 🙂

The answer is yes. Thanks so much!

Wow @eyedreemit, I really enjoyed this story! I must admit I did not see that ending coming :O Good job!

Great work with the prompts for this story! I liked your ending in the tipi, with the music, the dancing, and the leader's question. :)

Some of the young gremlins of the town of Freewrite have been kind enough to volunteer to deliver today's prompts! Please be advised, they have silly string and have eaten their way through a basket of Pixie Stix.

Freewrite Day 178 - sugar bowl

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the prompt delivery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55