You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In a Pig's Ear - Day 478: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: pig's ear

in #freewrite5 years ago

If you can churn stuff out like this, @carolkean, you should be a billionaire on Kindle with the romances. Do you have 300 of them over there now? I hope so. I have known many women, and a a couple of men, who would read a book in this genre in a day ortwo and start right back up on the next.

You are my first victim to remind you to freewrite again and Ha! You have already done it. So instead I will tell you that as far as I know, Tuesday is open for reminders.

So I am doing this Monday for those who wrote on Sunday and you would get the Monday people on Tuesday if you wish. I think Marianne missed your comment, so you have to bug her.

You should have way more votes on your posts. Have you worked my minnow tips? The big post of them is at the bottom of each of my posts lately. It would not take much for you to get a lot higher than you are. I will be glad to help if you have questions, but it's just a matter of stepping through hoops.

Sort:  

huge THANKS for the kind words and suggestions!!
No, I haven't published a single novel yet. Just a couple very obscure short stories. And lots of Freewrites and Steemit tales.
I glance at the minnow tips and occasionally follow up on something now and then, but I really don't work like I should on stuff outside of writing and editing. Thanks again!

Ok - we are going to get it together for you! Amazon LOVES short fiction. They have a special place for it, and promote it and everything. Kindle readers love something they can digest quickly and you are very talented in this way. Your series of 10 shorts will be a smash hit.

You might be my new project lol. I am nowhere near busy enough.

I am not kidding :)

Oh my!
I'll have to use a pen name. Amazon hates me now. I was one of the first Vine Voice Reviewers, but suddenly I'm told I "violated" policy and no, they would not explain, and they flushed hundreds of reviews I'd written since 2002. Seventeen years. Hundreds of reviews. GONE. Of course, I had not saved copies on my computer. :(
Thank you for taking an interest in my fiction! You might like this little mild romance from four months ago: Muscle Car Day 353: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: muscle - I've already thought about publishing a little collection of my short stories, but gave up because I'm not good at conflict, pace, plot, suspense, and such. I'm too fond of happy endings. I love it that you're actually reading my stuff!

Wow! That is quite a tale. How long ago did this happen? Were they paying you? Did they have your SS #? If not, you are clear. I think I have heard of this before in my authors groups. They think you were colluding with someone!

The idea is that you would publish several 3500-7500 word shorts and then collect them. I'm not sure I have the word count right.

I can't help but read you - you keep getting picked up in places I comment for :)

It was in January this year. I'm mystified. They won't tell me what happened. Me, paid to write reviews-LOL!--I wish. With AmazonVine they send products at no cost but I have to write a review. I do think social media "friends" were the "violation" - promoting Friends and Family is a "conflict of interest" - but to pull EVERY review I ever wrote, including of books by authors dead for a hundred years, is a punishment that does not fit the crime.
Just asked my daughter to read the Pig's Ear and Muscle Car stories, and she couldn't finish either one of 'em. Says my writing is too hard to follow. *sigh

lol - My son @bxlphabet tells me my writing is too painful to read! He was my proofreader for a brief time and it almost was the end of us. I think you will be fine.

Put on your list to sign up to be an amazon kindle author. I do not know what they call it now. At least get registered and then we can work to get you published :)

I think this is the start of the sign up.
https://kdp.amazon.com/en_US

I was thinking of going with Kobo vs Amazon, considering how Amazon flushed me. But I see the pen name Cara Helion is not taken. (Rhymes with Perihelion Science Fiction ezine, which Sam is still trying to revive, God bless him.)

Ugh. Sounds like what happened to me when Examiner.com went belly up, and every article I'd written for years suddenly disappeared for good. In my case it was dozens, not hundreds, but frustrating all the same.

I had a few saved, but not everything, and so much for the online portfolio I had accumulated. C'est la vie.

Ohhhh not you too Cori!! You are such a gifted writer with so many rich, memorable details and anecdotes. What a loss!! Dozens might as well be millions, with you. Cyberspace is forever. There has to be a way to retrieve your words. I feel like Amazon flushed my property but it's probably like the patents that a company owns, and guys who created things that changed the world got pennies while their employers reaped millions. (Why can't I remember...only last week I read about one of these...) I never thought to save hundreds of random Amazon reviews. I never dreamed that EVERY review would get flushed. Punishment doesn't fit the crime, and I still don't know what the crime was.

Yeah, it sucks, but c'est la vie.

I was a lot more upset when my former hosting company dumped all three of the blogs I'd been building up for years . . . Between the three, I had just over twenty thousand subscribers, and then everything was just gone. Poof. Sigh.

This is why my hosting company is no longer in the U.S., not that that guarantees no down time, but you can bet I'll be a lot more diligent about backing everything up on a daily basis.

Ah well, life goes on.

Ohhhhh Cori. Gone without any of it saved - and 20,000 blog subscribers gone as well - I have nothing to complain of! You are a trooper and a survivor!

Yeah, well I was an idiot and learned my lesson first. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85