Stranded ~ Freewrite ~ 5 Minutes and Go!

in #freewrite6 years ago

Anna took the last few steps onto the beach and collapsed into a heap, huffing in the sand that pricked against her face. Blake laid next her flat on his back panting in the hot sun.

“I can’t believe we made.” he struggled to get out, relief rushing over his exhausted body.

In the distance their sailboat sunk slowly into the water, the last bit of flame extinguished in the waves.

“We need to make a shelter…we need fire…we need fresh water and food.” he went on.

Anna just laid there too in shock to even move. Blake willed himself to stand and began scouting the island that had been their salvation.

The afternoon rolled into the evening, and fortunately they had found enough tinder to make a fire, and Anna sat next to it while Blake put together a make shift lean to from bamboo. As Anna’s stomach rumbled again, she eyed the jungle behind them. Convinced there had to be provisions, she strode off in search. Luckily, about twenty minutes later, she came back, brandishing a large hand of bananas proudly, and sat back down next to the fire.

“Great! Good thinking!” Blake said. He squatted down next to her and reached over for one. “Listen, I’ve been doing some thinking. I know what I said on the boat, about how I just couldn’t see a future together, and how I thought it would be best if we went our separate ways. And I know things got a little heated, when I mentioned I started seeing someone else, and I accidentally knocked over the oil lamp. But, I mean, if we’re going to be here on this island together…for who knows how long….” He scooted closer to her, his face right next to hers. “Then I thought there’s really no sense in fighting the inevitable.” He leaned in for a kiss, but just as his lips were about to graze hers, Anna swiped him in the head with the bananas.

“If you think for one second that I would ever, ever consider anything involving you…let’s just say you might have better luck finding pirate treasure.”

She stood up quickly, not wanting to waste anymore time, and began to work on her own lean-to.


I took a second away from the Lola series, and wrote something new to kick off the selfie challenge the Freewrite House is having! Hope you enjoyed it!

To learn more about the five minute freewrites visit @mariannewest!

Sort:  

Haha love it @snook me too!!!!! Nice freewrite - I enjoyed it :)

Thank you!! I had a ball writing it. 😀

:D I would have hit him with more than just a bunch of banana's :D

Love your smile :D

Haha Thanks Snook!

I love how the bananas sneaked into this story!!

Haha I'm like a sneaky prompter...hidden like easter eggs! 🍌

There weren't any coconuts to hit with?

Haha I think coconuts would have been a much better choice!

Rule #1 of self-defense? Hit 'em in the head with your typical spare set of bananas :D

Excellent fiction and good for her! The nerveof his assumption!

Thank you! And just to think there are people really like that is crazy! Haha

Haha.. I love the story line... Is this going to be the beginning of a new Story after Lola series? Because I'm already falling love with this too... Keep it up! @freedomtowrite

That's incredibly encouraging! I hadn't thought about it as a series...but I might! Maybe I could alternate?

What if he finds the pirate treasure 🧐

Well, that's a good question! haha I bet she demands some of the treasure so she can buy another boat! 😂 And thank you for the resteem!!

Sounds like a fun plan. 😃

Your welcome.

LOL! Such a fun story! I would have taken those bananas and smacked him in his you know what! Tip!

Hahaha thank you!! Your comment made me laugh out loud! Such a pompous jerk haha

Thank you soo much for the tip!

Hi @freedomtowrite! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

Chck out this new post from @whatisnew: Click. Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86