Freewrite Favorites Volume 19: NEW Freewriters! Come and Say "Hi!"

in #freewrite6 years ago

0000-freewriteFavorites2-VOL.png

Click on the photos to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!

divider.png

We have some NEW nominees this week, including at least one brand new steemian! I love seeing the support that this community brings about. You guys are so awesome, so encouraging and supportive of each other, it is truly a COMMUNITY! I know that @freewritehouse doesn't have a ton of voting power yet, but I love how much everyone participates to make others feel welcome.

This week's favorites include some people we haven't seen before and I would LOVE to see everyone go visit these freewriters and give them some upvotes and encouraging comments! Bring out your best supportive side today and make someone's day! There are some GREAT posts for you to visit today!

divider.png

@emms

Emma is new to steemit, she JUST joined and jumped right into the #freewrite community. Invited by @abyni because of her love of writing, @emms started out with some right out of the gate impressive freewrites. I KNOW this girl and yet I saw her mentioned by other people before I even realized she was on steemit! :)

Give her a warm freewrite welcome and go say hi!

emms-profile.png

I hadn't seen any of @emms' freewrites before, and saw that this one came late in the day for a freewrite. When I saw it, it grabbed me and burned me from the inside. I used to have a fear of what she describes here, and she uses such beautiful, vivid imagery, I'm mesmerized. I recommend @emms' 'Helpless' free write. ~ @improv

emms-fire.png

This freewrite about falling in love is stunning. Especially knowing that it's written by someone rather young, it is so deep, so pure and really beautiful. It gave me goosebumps. I love reading something so positions, full of the awe and wonder of young love. It takes me back to the core of what matters when we're in love. The connection, deep down, that's what's important to remember. ~ @byn

emms-falling.png

divider.png

@jackofcrows

I would like to nominate @jackofcrows for his funny freewrite, IntergalacticDeliveryBoi, which is about a human who is infatuated with an alluring robot: a robot who is described as "all doll parts and circuitry" and "sways to a rhythm no human can detect." ~ @aislingcronin

jackofcrowns.png

divider.png

@iyanpol12

I am nominating/recommending @iyanpol12 with his freewrites.
I believe he has mastered this five-minute freewrite so much that reading his posts make you want to read more but then time is up. Engk! Five minutes is up and you have to finish the story, or just stay there hanging. Lol.
It is always "fun" reading his works. Well, fun may not literally equate to crazy laughters though. Sometimes it perks up the brain with his spontaneity leading to something deep, something human. Like this particular freewrite of his:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iyanpol12/helpless-5-minute-freewrite-challenge
It is so full of emotion and open-ended, general in a sense that it could pretty much be about someone, or no one in particular. Yet, somehow, I relate to it and it could even refer to me. ~ @yadah04

iyanpool.png

divider.png

@ireenchew

Overslept?! How many times have we thought, just 5 more minutes to then realise it is way past "I'll make it on time" o'clock? @ireenchew tells an oh-so-familiar story on two counts. One, sometimes it is better to be late than to be sorry and two, snoozing can lead to dire consequences. And a good story always has a twist, so that part I will leave it for you to find out here at: ~ @kaerpediem

irenechew.png

divider.png

@glenalbrethsen

My favorite entry this week is from @glenalbrethsen for his coffee freewrite, entitled "Love At First...Yikes!".
I didn't get it right away, probably cause I still haven't had enough coffee, but when I first read it, I thought it was just a nice meet cute scene. You know, girl meets boy, spills some coffee on his shirt, and it's love at first sight. Turns out, that wasn't the scene at all. The guy didn't like the girl back, and might actually have been a little annoyed! So, it wasn't just a meet cute. It was actually an attempt to turn the trope on its head. I love it. But also kind of embarrassed that I didn't get it right away. Hehe... The author had to point it out for me. ~ @cryptocopy

glenalbrethsen.png

divider.png

@digitalmind

This week I nominate the post by @digitalmind for the prompt "helpless."
I always write my own freewrite for a recent prompt and then go look at the others for this contest. I really like looking at what others do with the same word, even though I do not always take the time or get the chance.
The prompt I chose for this week led to some very sad stories and I'm afraid this is one of them. @digitalmind writes of a time he was robbed in an alley back in the 1970's. He mentions how he still avoids such places today because of this experience.
I can relate to this even though I am lucky enough not to have ever been robbed. But I have some other experiences that make me avoid places or situations because of old memories. Our mind and emotions are stronger than we think. Maybe this memory has kept @digitalmind safe, even though he does not notice it each time. ! @fitnfun

digitalmind.png

divider.png

@rensoul17

Today I would like to nominate @rensoul17 for this beautiful poem on the prompt overslept. I was going to save it for my Friday poem nomination, but I got excited. The words just flowed as I read this poem about a once Queen, being replaced by men, in a women's world...or was it? Well worth a read and an upvote. Go check it out. 🙏 ~ @wonderwop

rensoul.png

divider.png

@marie-jay

@marie-jay has a way of describing the people and "conspiracy" among the servants in this story so perfectly. I love how she illustrated the servants' world behind the Master's watch. I could actually have the story played in my mind and "saw" Mr. Babybottom's face who was always overslept even after he was replaced for not carrying out his duties well enough. What a pleasant freewrite to read about! ~ @happycrazycon

mariejay.png

divider.png

@wonderwop

I want to reccomend a freewrite by @wonderwop Reading this freewrite I felt that urgency I always feel when I hear ambulances or see accidents and Bruni wrote this with good description placing me in the action. I loved this...
God bless our first responders! The story ended even better that the two people involved came out okay. I have always worried when I see accidents or hear ambulances go by and say a quiet prayer for those involved.~ @wandrnrose7

wonderwop.png

divider.png

@wordymouth

My nomination is the Smooth as Silk freewrite by @wordymouth
I think he does as incredible job of setting the scene in such a short space; you can feel the heat and energy in the church. There's also a real sense of the narrator's innocence and it calls up more than a few questions about a situation that's outwardly prosaic and straightforward. ~ @sidequest

wordymouth.png

divider.png

Check out what else is going on over at @freewritehouse! New Contests are popping up all the time!

thumb-winning.png

thumb-wewrite.png

250-daily.png

And don't forget to watch for the chance to win SBI for nominating your favorite freewrites each week! The post goes up on Tuesdays!

thumb-Recommend-faves.png

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the nomination!! It really means a lot!!!

Thank You for participating and sharing your writing with us. Keep up the AWESOME work!

Well, thanks for the mention in the post here and for including me. Thank you to @cryptocopy for the nomination. :)

Thank you for joining us! It is great to have you on board. :) Loved the "and that kids is how I met your mother" ending!

Thanks, @freewritehouse. It seemed like an appropriate way to abruptly end it. :)

Thanks for the mention!!!

This has been one of those weeks when I haven't gotten to read very many freewrites, so I am particularly grateful for this really easy way to find a bunch of great ones in a hurry!! (Although I feel as if I'm cheating, somehow. Hee hee)

Thank you @wandrnrose7 for the nom and for stopping by. 💓

A very big welcoming hug to all our new freewrite, feel at home, am sure you're going to enjoy this community.

Thank you @sidequest for the nomination and @freewritehouse for the mention. I appreciate the support of everyone who enjoys a good story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00