OH YEAH! Check out my FireWire!

in #freewrite5 years ago

Got a pleasant surprise checking out my page today. Apparently I got 1394 followers!

Screenshot_20190713_002813followers.png

Screenshot_20190713_002813.png

I've never really felt like I've picked up followers that easily. Sometimes I'm brash. I cuss a lot. I'm an asshole a lot of the time, frankly. I'm super long winded. Worst of all, I fucking hate discord, so there's pretty much no chance I'll pick up any friends there, which for some reason is where all the communities on Steem are. I think some are on a few other places, but haven't quite discovered one I'd like to join outside of discord yet.

I tried being a member of a community for a while...but there were a ton of requirements. I was supposed to check the community every day and find people to upvote and comment on. Honestly, I think a big number of the users weren't even doing this. I eventually couldn't deal with it anymore, and decided to quit. I didn't like being forced to use one of my few votes every day, or perhaps more if I actually had to flag someone. Plus, being forced to comment...just leads to shitty comments.

Of course, it's not like their tactic didn't work. I got a lot better payouts while in that place. But, sadly, I care more about my morals than my payouts, and it just felt like a distributed V4V campaign.

BTW, if you have no idea why I got so excited by 1394, it's because the IEEE standardization of FireWire is IEEE1394. FireWire is a serial transmission standard created by Apple. It's kinda like USB...and actually is part of the newest standards of USB! It was really fast in the 90's compared to USB, but USB caught up because of all the money behind it, and was a lot more widely supported. Apple never really got that if you want to make an awesome connection, you gotta figure out how to get everyone to adopt it. Firewire was on some hard drives that were a bit more expensive than the other ones, and some cameras, but that's about it. It wasn't heavily adopted until it became part of USB. This was due to Apple being Apple and being stupid about it and not trying to get it on as many motherboards as possible, as they should have. Or at least get it on as many devices as possible.

In the late 90's, if you wanted an external hard drive to not be super fucking slow, either you used expensive as fuck SCSI, which required specific hard drives, or you used a FireWire enclosure. USB hard drives were a fucking nightmare.

For some fucking reason, they still kind of are. They're thankfully quite a bit faster than they were back then though. Some of them aren't really barely making use of USB 3+ at all though. If you look at some of the stats for USB 3+ thumb drives, they're just pathetic.

I hope that the coders on Steem keep working on things to help improve community capabilities on the chain. I know that it's partially my fault that I didn't just deal with my hatred of Discord...but this is a fucking crypto community people! Why the fuck are you all on Discord? That's not decentralized. It's not even well programmed. It's amazing that their Linux app works at all. I would think that more people would set up websites with their own chat softwares...or fucking IRC! IRC still exists! There are also quite a few distributed chat programs! WTF! I really fucking hope coders get some shit together to improve communities on here and figure out a way to get most of these people off discord.

In the meantime, I'm gonna keep posting as often as I can, complaining, being a dick, and slowly picking up followers, while at the same time all of my friends are probably leaving faster than I'm picking up new ones, because cryto's rekt.

Take it geeky.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25