Thorns and Petals - Week 2 of We-Writes

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is my very first entry to a writing contest on Steemit. I stumbled across this one today and thought I'd give it a go. It is the We-Write! My Start and Your End! by @freewritehouse.

You can find out more by clicking on the link but basically you are given the start to a story (the one quoted below) and then you have to write an ending in just 5 minutes.

Please feel free to let me know anything I left out if you're familiar with this contest. I'm not sure about tag requirements for example. 😊

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Lydia touched the soft pedals that belonged to roses perched by her grandma's front door.

"Smooth as silk." Her grandma always said. "But be careful of the thorns, they prick."

It was true she realized, about more things than just roses.

Take this afternoon for instance. She had gone into work just like any other day. Her coffee still warm in her hand as she sat down at her desk.

But as she looked up to her computer, there stuck to the screen was a post-it note that read...

Come to my office as soon as you read this.

"What can this be about?" Lydia wondered. She knew she'd fallen short of her targets last week but surely not so short as to be summoned to the boss.

Reluctantly Lydia placed her bag in her desk drawer and made her way to her boss's office.

Knocking on the door she noticed that all the blinds were down and there seemed to be a number of voices coming from the other side of the door.

"Come in" said Mrs Falconer, Lydia's boss and, in she went.

She was not prepared for the scrutiny of the 12 faces that stared at her as she entered.

Take a seat said Mrs Falconer.

Lydia had a quick look around and saw that the only seat available was beside her boss on the "wrong" side of the desk.

"Yes. That's right", said Mrs Falconer. "Come and sit beside me here."

"I have some good news and some bad news for you."

"The bad news is, your colleagues and I will be moving upstairs, and you are not coming with us."

"The good news is, this will now be your desk and a new team of 12 will be starting tomorrow. You have been promoted. Congratulations!"

Lydia swallowed hard and smiled. "Thorns and petals" she thought.

Sort:  

@gillianpearce, Attaboy! I was intrigued by the plot :) what will happen next?

That's it I think @madlenfox. Although I could be wrong. I think we get another story start in a week's time. I'm not completely sure though. 😁

Hey, very good! I think this is the first fiction writing I've seen you do, and it's a great continuation of the story. It's amazing what can be accomplished in five minutes. I've been trying for the better part of the week to get faster at it and I'm not succeeding. :)

I've been trying for the better part of the week to get faster at it and I'm not succeeding.

How can you get faster at it if it is 5 minutes @glenalbrethsen. I thought that was the point, to just write whatever comes out for five minutes. 😂

I'm just looking at the amount of characters others are pumping out and realizing I'm among the shorter CL of the entrants. Either they're not strictly adhering to the five minute rule, or they're pumping out 2-3 times more than I am. So, faster, as in, get my fingers to correctly type more words in five minutes. :)

Ah. I see @glenalbrethsen. Not sure why it would make a difference though. 😂

Well, the only difference I can see is it would help me to be a little more descriptive in the stories I'm writing and fill them out some more, and maybe end up with a better ending. Of course, that doesn't mean the result will be any better, so I agree with that. :)

Well done!! and there were no tag requirements. 😄

Good luck in your first writing contest.

Thank you @rentmoney. I'm not sure if this is the best place to post it as I don't do much writing here. Maybe I should post it on a different account. it might be an idea to get one before hardfork 20 when everything changes. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97