You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trapped

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hey, @byn.

Very well done on the story, and the volume of it. I've never been able to do so much per prompt. It's good, though, because you need all of it to describe what's happening to Karen.

I definitely want to know what happens, so you're doing a great job of keeping the reader in suspense. Just enough horror to not overwhelm, but my brain is already working on worst case scenarios, which is what you wanted, too. So, good on you for that.

Hopefully, tomorrow's prompt won't be something like Creme Brulee or something. :)

Sort:  

My husband calls my writing style 'verbal vomit' because I just tend to sit down and type like crazy, without even thinking about it much. It's like I'm discovering the story as it appears before me on the screen. My typing speed has increased a lot since I started doing these freewrites back in November, for sure!

Lol, Marianne has definitely thrown me for a loop when I do continued stories like this. I end up having to be REALLY creative!

I might try a week's worth of an extended story. I liked the weekend freewrite (mainly because it gave me more time).

re: verbal vomit

I've written like that, too, and I've written where every sentence is a struggle. With the freewrite, you tend more to the former, just because there's no time to over think it.

Well, maybe if I give it time, my typing will increase, too. I think some of it is ergonomics, so I probably should just go ahead and get that new adjustable desk with chair I've been eyeing for months. Might help my wrists and shoulders too.

Hey, an ergonomic chair and desk is always a good idea!

I like writing the extended stories, but they do tend to fall off on views after a little bit because people don't want to have to catch up with the story. That's a big reason why I'm working on writing books outside of steemit. I have too many long stories percolating in my brain thanks to all the awesome freewriting inspiration!

That's cool that the freewrites are inspiring you with the longer form writing.

I guess that's true about the extended stories. I serialized a WIP here and I'm pretty sure no one followed it from beginning to end. It was a nice experiment to do, though, to see what kind of support might be available. Also, I'm sure things change the more your work gets out there, which would include any success outside of Steemit. So, go for it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63861.47
ETH 3215.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84