You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meditation lesson (Five minutes freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hey, @marie-jay.

I smiled when Skinny (Riu) got up and left at the end. There's something about defying a monk that's humorous to me. I was also hoping that Monkeyface would be knocked down a notch or two, but I guess it's just as as well.

We do spend quite a bit of our lives trying to please others, not quite accomplishing that, and in the process, not being happy with ourselves and our lot, either. I think Skinny, in his true moments of meditation, realized that being a goatherder was better than constant discipline and denying yourself of who you are.

Hopefully Riu can find happiness in his decision and contentment with his circumstances. We all should try that, as well.

Sort:  

Indeed we should... and should teach our children, too.

Agreed. They seem to learn best from us from what they see us doing. I wasn't very good at convincing our boys as they were growing up to do or not do something if I was doing the opposite. I can't imagine why. Lead by example. Who knew? :)

Being yourself, and finding joy in it. Being content with circumstances, but also aspiring for something better. Not settling, but not feeling like all is lost or there will never be more no matter what you do. Being happy.

That's definitely easier to want to do than it is to do it, but not impossible. And, I would add, if we see our children doing it, it makes it easier for us. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71