Freewrite Prompt: Visit

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

"Erm... I am having second thoughts about the hospital visit tomorrow. I don't think I want to go," Aunty Macy called.

"But Mom, this could be our last chance seeing her. You sure you don't want to go?" her daughter, Haley tried persuading her.

"The last time you all persuaded me, I went because of you to see my brother. Please just let me be this time, and don't put me into the spot again. It was a very horrible experience. Your aunt stood at one corner, sulking when she saw me. I have forgiven again and again. It's just very very hard for me, after the mistreatments all these years," Aunty Macy sighed.

"Okay Mom, bless you," Haley knew there wasn't much to do but to let her mom decide powerfully by herself. Her aunt was dying of cancer and her cousins called to ask for her mom to pay a visit, if possible. They had not seen Aunty Macy for years, since after that incident when their dad embarrassed their aunt in the public. There were also many other incidences when Aunty Macy was shamed and treated rudely which they had no idea about. Haley knew all these and when her cousin called asking, "Actually what happened and caused such a huge misunderstanding?", she had a hard time to answer because she knew the stories from her mom's end too.

Finally, Haley went ahead to see her aunt for the last time, by herself, paying her last visit at the hospital as the doctors have said everything didn't look optimistic.

There, she saw, her own mom! Aunty Macy still went by herself in the end. There was nothing said between her aunt and her mom, Haley observed the two old ladies just held each other's hand. SHE MADE IT FOR THE LAST VISIT! Deep within, Haley was very proud of her mom.

That night, Haley heard that her aunt had passed on and before her passing, she had a visit to Heaven, seeing a glimpse of it. There were birds flying and she saw a traditional Chinese wedding coach (marriage sedan) waiting for her. That was the last thing she verbalized to her children, with a smile.

4vo9ubro7g.jpg
Image Source


This was inspired by a real life story. The story came to my mind when I read of this prompt today.

Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.

created by @zord189

Sort:  

That was beautiful. What a way to pass on :) ❤

Beautiful story I was part of it too, if I guess the story correctly :)

Hahaha you are right! I heard the story from a storyteller and thought maybe this should be written only day with names kept private lol :P

Biggest Airdrop Ever 30 STEEM Free Giveaway

This is a limited time offer only for 5 days. Join and get 30 steem on your Account.

JOIN NOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87