Down But Not Out...

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

giphy.gif

On the 24th of August, 2018...

I was hacked!

542 Steem was stolen from my account...

The hacker made it look as though I "transfered" the 542 Steem to @asubuike who traded off 540 Steem to @airhawk-exchange...

My whole Steemit earnings went poof! in a single moment...

And that singular act of theft left me a broken man...

I tried to be strong. Decided to change my password in order to prevent further infiltration in the future -- and ended up locking myself out of my @igwentertainment account. I love that account. Like hell I do! As a matter of fact, I love it more than the 542 Steem that was stolen from it. That was the dumbest thing I've ever done in Steemit -- losing my main Steemit account due to my stupid inability to secure my newly generated password.

This is why I'm writing my "sorry" thought with my alternate account: @igwe-library.

Upon reflection, it dawned on me that this is a start-over. "You've been ripped off, man!" the voice in my head keep ringing like a bell. "So what?" I countered. "You're only down -- not out!"

With those words of self-encouragement, I came to a new wave of realization: like the phoenix gutted by the fire of destruction, I shall rise to a better, new dawn of Inspiration, knowing that...

I'm only down -- not out!

qu4X7N1.gif

Sort:  

Sorry to hear the bad news... you should consider keeping your steem in savings so hackers or thieves cannot take your holdings as easily. Just a thought. Wishing you best of luck

Thanks, @famcore, for the thought. But isn't it possible that a savings can ALSO be hacked? In other words, how secured is savings from hack attack?

Savings requires a waiting period of 3 days for withdrawals (I believe), so if you were to check your wallet frequently you would be able to see if someone tried to withdraw (as long as you checked before those 3 days were up).

Great question! I hope I was able to be helpful in some way. Again, very sorry to hear about the bad news! Best of luck my friend.

Makes sense. But what if someone (other than me, like the hacker) transfers the money from savings to another destination, will it show on the history record and can I still revert it before the 3 days are over?

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

"You're only down -- not out!"

LOVE this :)

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @igwe-library! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72