Beautiful Chickens -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/the-weekend-freewrite-6-8-2019-part-3-the-dramatic-twist

"You don't have many options," Oliver said. "You already paid the registration fee for 12..."

Chyna, the chicken with a tail like a peacock, began to strut fretfully. "I only laid one egg, though! I expected a dozen because we come in cartons of a dozen. I didn't know I wasn't like a store!"

"I don't know what to tell you. There are no refunds. Can you, like, TRY to lay more eggs?"

Chyna gave Oliver a look that made his little tamarin whiskers curl. "I am not a machine. I am a person, and I do not appreciate your vast ignorance of chicken anatomy being foisted upon my delicate ego. No, I cannot TRY to lay more eggs. I was just a chick when I made the reservation. It's been only a year since I was hatched myself. What did I know?"

The tamarin straightened his vest. "You are welcome to invite other parents to send their chicks with you if you want. We have 12 registeration fees from you, so use them however you wish. There's just no refunding you the rest of your bwauk bwucks."

He threw her a nod. "I think my wrist is broken."
Chyna smiled at the tamarin. "Maybe you'll think twice about interfowling with us next time."
"I was only doing my job, hen. Besides, you still can't get in with 13 chicks. You paid for 12. Just because I'm in excruciating pain and can't stop you doesn't mean you'll get past the other primates and into The Rotisserie."

Chyna looked at the bedraggled spotted chick. The one who hadn't asked to come along because she didn't feel worthy. All the other chicks would surely protest if one of them were left behind in favor of the outsider. But she couldn't leave this little chick behind.

"Mama," piped up the yellow ball of fluff who stood beneath her succulent breast, "I'll stay outside. I know you love me even if I can't go in. It's ok. I'll be ok."

If chickens could cry, mama and chick would both be holding back tears, but as it was, Chyna simply bobbed her head.

A filled in crossword, stained in grease was all that was left of Chyna or any of the chicks who had accompanied her into The Rotisserie. The little ball of fluff was lonely, sitting outside The Rotisserie waiting for a mother and friends who had all been eaten to come back out. The tamarin Oliver, whose wrist was broken, just watched as he stood behind the velvet rope and licked his own fur.

"When is mama coming out, Oliver?" asked the chick who was too young to have a name.

"Any second now," said Oliver. "Oh, there she is."

As he spoke, a tall primate wearing a pair of jeans and a t-shirt that said "never trust a skinny cook" strode through a set of doors much taller than the ones at which the chick waited. It bent down to the chick and said, "aren't you a cute little ball of fluff. Want to come home with me?"

"I'm waiting for my mama," peeped the chick, but to the human, it sounded just like the peeps of a chick.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7000 replies. Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

wicked!! oh, this is wicked!
And the part where Mama finally exits the Rotisserie, inside a...
I'm kinda glad this is not a Part one of whatever new series!! Horrors!

Just fowl.

That was sad :( And she had to pay a registration fee to be eaten!! Bad humans!!!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73