ex

in #freewrite10 months ago

For https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@daily.prompt/mariannewests-freewrite-writing-prompt-day-2099-my-ex

My ex. Which ex? There's no one person in particular I think of when I think of my ex.

I'm best buds with my ex from freshman year.

I'm friendly acquaintances with my ex from sophomore year.

I'm friends with the brother of my ex from high school.

Who else was I in enough of a relationship with to call them my ex? I think that might be it.

Those relationships were all under a year long. Relationships are funny. I know people stay together for years and then break up, but I'm not sure how that happens, unless they've made some commitments that make it hard to separate.

I'm not judging, I just don't get it. My infatuation periods were even longer than the relationships, but Oh, I don't know. It sounds like I think I know what I'm talking about, but I don't. A friend described the end of her relationship once, and I get it. He and she were going to get married, but then he got cold feet a week or so before the wedding, but they stayed together for more years, but when he was ready again to get married, she had decided not to. I get that. I get how fear of change can stop you, and then how that can break trust, and the core of who people are doesn't change, but it can change our attitudes. Poor my friend. He insisted that they had to marry or break up so they broke up, and now he's with someone else and not married, and the whole reason they supposedly broke up was because he wanted to be a married man, and now he still isn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96