Screeching Tires -5minutefreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-690-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-screeching-tires

Screeching tires, Busting glass. The fateful (fatal?) screams that I
Heard last

Now I got to be good
So I can see my baby when I

This is a song that has always bugged me. I dunno. Something about rock and roll classics tackling such a dark story? Or is it the message of “I should be good only because my bad decision making killed my girlfriend”? Or is it just… I dunno. Am I forgetting the part of the song that really makes me uncomfortable?

Shall we see if I can remember more of the song?

No, I cannot.

I shouldn’t have paused my typing to check my brain, but I did. It was just sounds that I can’t be sure how to represent with letters. Maybe some squiggles. Like, really. We kind of agree on doo doos and such to represent the sounds of musical instruments, but they don’t really have human vocal counterparts, or rather, if a human voice can make those sounds, they still don’t have consonants and vowels.

You ever think about how strange it is that we don’t have letters for some sounds? That our language is made up entirely of things we can spell, even though there are other things our voices can do that we can’t represent with symbols? Does the IPA have everything, though?

Sort:  

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

He has to be good so he’ll get into heaven because that’s where his baby is now coz she's an angel.

It’s the Wednesday delivery team here with the very poor prompt for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-692-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-poverty

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I never heard of that song so I guess you need to google to find out the rest of the lyrics.

What surprises me is how many words I associate with a song.

If it comes to sounds... It all depends on the language too which letters are used and how come the sound is not spelled in the same way?
Even the same animal makes a different sound abroad, although in reality it dus not. My wolf barks and howls worldwide the same sound. Who made up the letters we use? 🤔

I wish you a great day 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62