5 Minute Freewrite Prompt : Overslept

in #freewrite6 years ago

5 Minutes, just 5 more Minutes.. I promised I'll be out of bed. The snooze bell rang again. I've forgotten how many times I've shut it down

Urggh !!! I dragged myself to open up my lazy eyes... I could see the sun blazing down at me.

S*** !!! I've overslept ! I jumped right out of bed. Looked at the walk clock & it shows 10 minutes to 9. I'm so in trouble this time. There's a staff meeting at 9.30 & Helen, my boss doesn't like it if any of us are late for meetings

I rushed to the shower, doing all things at the same time. In 10 minutes, I was out from the shower. I grabbed whatever I could reach first. Today is definitely not the Best Dressed Award session for me. As I grabbed my laptop & wallet, I couldn't help but realized that there were sounds of kids laughing outside the bedroom.

Why are the kids home ? Aren't they supposed to be at school ?

There was no time to think or ask. I opened the door. Lizzie & the boys were in the playroom.

Bye Babe! I'm late. Got to go. Love you

And I was out of the door. I didn't even wait to hear Lizzie shouting her lungs out, calling for me. There was no time. It was 15 minutes past 9. I can still make it if I took the short cut. As I was in the lift, I planned my route in my head; turn left, then right, uphill & I'll be there. Just valet park as that will save me 3 minutes at least. The lift door opened & I'm out. Immediately started my engine & out I drove.
Suddenly out of nowhere, Lizzie jumped right out in front of me !
I SLAMMED my brakes just in time.

DAMN Lizzie!! What were you thinking about! I could've hit you. I'm late for work. Move aside

DAMN Ben ! It's a HOLIDAY today. The council declared it last night when we won the Interstate Football Tournament.

alone-bed-bedroom-271897.jpg
Source Image from Pexels

P3_Your mind will always believe everything you tell it..jpg

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Woah, good thing he was alert and managed to brake in time...
I have actually done this!! Jumped out of bed disorientated,. mumbling I'm late... rushing to get ready only to realise it's a Saturday.... gahhhhh
But I have no problem crawling back into bed... there is no such thing as too much sleep... haha
Nice one @ireenchew 😊

Ha ha ... I like the crawling back to bed part...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha! This is funny and it happens! Everyone was aware of it except you! Good write!

Oh yeah, I recommended you in the Freewritehouse's newbie. See if you will win it. All the best! :)

I'm already so happy to be elected. I consider that a win already 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe... There are many activities going on at the @freewritehouse. There's recommend a newbie, recommend a favorite freewrite all that. You may want to check them out. They also publish the favorite freewrites so we can read of others' work too. I learn a lot from there and also enjoy reading their writes too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

The first part of this definitely sounds like my every morning...alarm rang, turn it off, dumped back to bed, and sprung up 10 minutes later to start rushing to class. Sometimes I even think that I had sufficient training on this to do it just in time every time lmao.

Ah right, last Wednesday I arrived at class 1 hour earlier than everyone else because I forgot that the lecturer mentioned that the class will start 1 hour later that day. Not as bad as treating a holiday as a working day but still hehe.

Thankfully for you, it's early & not late.. ha ha

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00