Mondays End Makes Me Happy

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

A War Of Will

Abbi says good night after a hell of a day.

15390539211861718453057.jpg

Her shirt reads "I Can't. I Reallllyyy Just Can't

She picks her own shirt out for the day.

Abbi and I had a battle of will this morning. Shower time came and the fight was on. See here, to give Abbi a shower its very nice to have two people to help. We have an aide that comes Monday thru Friday for three hours a day. Since nurses are not available at this time I am the next best thing. I may be kind of her everything.

The transfer of Abbi from her bed to shower chair, can be done two ways. First one the is to pick Abbis legs up while second person picks up her upper torso, to lift Abbi from bed to chair. That way won't work with the aide we have now. That leaves us with the second choice, Abbi rolling from bed to shower chair while I assist her by guiding her. We do it this way when we are alone or without an aide. Abbi has been fighting the roll method when the aide is here.

Aides in the home come with rules. They can lift no more than twenty-five pounds in weight. I can not discriminate here in America. But the service knows I need a person for transfers and our current aide is 100 lbs herself. Abbi is pushing 90 lbs which is why I feel it is safer to do the roll method of getting into her shower chair. The aide is very welcome and of great service in many other ways.

Abbi can be stuborn about allowing changes to occur. Abbi is one strong lady, both mentally and physically. A battle of will with Abbi is a struggle that I have to work on avoiding. She has a way of avoiding change that can and has pushed my anger buttons.

Two Women in a house together what else would happen from time to time. We have disagreements. Oh yah.. I think these battles for adaptation to new atmostphere are hard on both sides. The changes in day to day lives are sometimes hard to grasp.

We both survived Abbi got her shower. All is well again and we are learning every day.

I mentioned my anger earlier. It is more aimed at myself. I know. I must stop that.

Reminder to you: Love what you do or do not continue doing it.

Love to all

This is an original piece by Julie of @julieabbi2
Photo owned by Julie

Sort:  

I enjoy these real and honest daily blogs @julieabbi2.

I highly encourage you to start them as a #Ulog series (I see you are using the tag, now let's go next level Sista!).

On these posts you will have the word Ulog in the title as well as what number in the series you are on. That way you can keep track of how many #ulogs you have done and see how far you have come. You are the celebrity and we are your fans!

If you have the word Ulog and the # of the post in the title I believe it will get you a lot more exposure in our awesome #ulog community.

For example, this post would be titled:

Ulog #3: Mondays End Makes Me Happy

I really want you to know I totally love your advice. I will do better with help from lovily people like you who inspire me.

Abbi is the celebrity in our world. God put us together and we love him.

Love

hey, @julieabbi2.

Wow. I love your perspective here. I don't know if there is another perspective that would be more beneficial, but I know there are plenty of people who would not look at this situation the same way as you. I commend you for your love and your attitude.

I've not had experience with any kind of in home care yet. My parents are getting high enough in age that physically they've been falling apart for a while and so they've been in and out of hospitals and different kinds of therapy.

Recently, I was at a convalescent home for someone else, and was amazed at the attendants who were supposed to be lifting people in and out of bed. I guess they don't have the same lifting weight restrictions, but as you said with your attendant, they were women, and they were pretty small. They had some kind of strap or belt that they used.

Sad thing is, I don't think I could have helped lift the friend they were moving. If the person can't help you, especially if their muscles are slack, it doesn't matter. There needs to be some kind of resistance.

I'm glad you shared this with us. Abbi sounds like a great person and one that you are thankful to have in your life. It also sounds likes she's not related. You don't have to retell the story here. I'll take a look through your postings and see if I can catch up with the situation.

Not many will ever have to deal with the things We deal with. Which is good. Positivity is going to help in each of our days.

Thank you

Love

Love that happy face. I can't even imagine how tough change must be.

Love that happy face.
I can't even imagine
How tough change must be.

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations @julieabbi2! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00