A writer story of Germany elimination (Freewrite meets Popple)

in #freewrite6 years ago

fifa.jpg

What a perfect prompt from the daily freewrite. I just launch a game around the world cup. Now I am thinking about another one: write a story from one game from the cup. Basically your story will be set somewhere else than the football playground, the teams will be armies, adversaries, former lovers ... The wins, the loses, the draws will become whatever you can imagine. It doesn't need to be long. It can be like the #freewrite, 5 minute of writing. Or top 10 minutes.
So as a example let's see what I can do with Germany elimination.

Prompt: Players

Title: The warriors who did not fight

“One nation is weakened by a victory, another finds new forces in defeat”
― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Night Flight

It was suppose to be an easy victory. There was a small obstacle left on our road to more important battles. We had to cross, to stomp and small country that had no influence in the war to come.
Our last battle gave us confidence, overconfidence. We won at the very end. The sun was almost down, the desperation was gaining our rank. An heroic cut through their defence gave us the edge that was eluding us so far. Our fate rested in our hands.

But nothing went as planned. We were not hungry enough, we were full of ourselves. I try to warn them, I tried to push them, I tried... Oh Lord I tried.

The eyes of my companions were empty: no fire, no soul. I am afraid they only reflected the depth of my own emptiness. I thought I would seek glory, that I was among the chosen few.

How presumptuous! Our land will be cursed by the snow of shame for Four winters.
We will wait for redemption, we will wait for ever.


Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Very impressive, watching the match yesterday left everyone wandering what is happening, if it had been the big team, that wouldn't have been a big deal, an Asian country for that matter.

Looking at the game you might have mistake which team was trying to get to the next round and which team was already out. Seriously I was mainly disappointed by the attitude how Germany.

I like the frustration of not winning and the endless hope of a win. Thanks.

Anyway, I am bringing today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-251-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-players

that was yesterday's prompt... the one just used :-D

My bad. Steemit was acting up and I grabbed the wrong URL. Here's the correct one: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-252-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-talking-dog

So who is winning the football world cup 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65