You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 538: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: shade

in #freewrite5 years ago

I come from a family of alcoholics and other substance abusers. It really does affect who you are as you become an adult and live life yourself. I never had issues with drinking or indulging in other substances, but I'm certain aspects of my mentality and "who I am" came about thanks to my childhood.

Callous, emotionally closed except when in my false realities, a bit of a bitch in my parenting style... all things I hate to admit, but can admit them which is the main thing.

Thank you for sharing yourself with us. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! Alcohol abuse most definitely shapes our personalities whether we drink or not. I am surprised by your assessment of yourself though. I sure would not guess that you were emotionally closed given all the emotion in your writing - you may feel "closed" but you are very aware.
Twenty years of therapy later, I'm still struggling with alcohol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96