FreeWriteHouse Party 200 days contest (Day 1) - Hubby Wanted A BANANA Just Before Today's Prompt! 🍌🍌

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180515_133301.jpg

BANANA

Everything seemed to go wrong, the timing of everyone was just off and I was frustrated. How could my meetings be pushed back all the way until late afternoon? I promised myself that I would put in a lot more effort in my son's education and I wanted to be there for the school briefing on the cultural aspect of learning. Every so often, his school would hold little sessions to help parents understand how their children learn the Montessori way and yesterday's session was on Culture. I was already late and I rushed to call a cab. Sigh...late again, everything wasn't working out for me. The car arrives and I jump into it, asking the driver to hurry up if it was at all possible in the late afternoon traffic.

As the car approached the school, I ran to the gate as I was already 45 minutes late. The teachers had already started the briefing and I had missed a chunk of the cultural sharing on how my son would learn. Determined to make the effort, I strolled around the exhibits and asked some questions. I am glad that the teacher was gracious enough to answer my questions although some of the stuff had already been covered earlier. Other parents were already leaving but there were at least two other Mums who were happy to talk about their children and the progress they had made. The Montessori way of learning is so different from conventional kindergartens and I find it difficult to wrap my head around it. The headmistress was also generous with her time, sitting down to answer some other questions that I had. I was particularly bothered that my son didn't have a lot to share about school and the stuff that he does every day. At 4 years old you would think that he would be brimming with stories to tell however, this was not the case.

I learned something really valuable that day from the teachers about communicating with my child. I needed to slow down and build little communication bridges to help him open up. I will remind myself to be accepting of his emotions and responses rather than to place pressures and expectations on him. After all, no one likes to be forced to do anything, even sharing stuff with your own Mum! If I don't start now, it is going to be a lot tougher when he gets older.

After I finished with the teachers, I realised that it was too late to go back to the office and hence, decided to call my husband to see if we could end the day a little earlier than usual and put the kids to bed. On the way home in the midst of our discussions about today's events, he suddenly blurted out that he wanted to eat a banana. We then stopped at the local fruit store to get a bunch. After settling the kids down for the night and wrapping up, I got a ping from GINAbot, and the first freewrite prompt for this competition was....guess what?? BANANA!

This is my entry for the 200 days party! My very first attempt a freewriting and using the Most Dangerous Writing App was fun! Please be kind, I will get better at this.
Check out @marrianewest and @freewritehouse to know more about freewrites! For more interesting reads about today's prompt, here, go BANANAS!

Khim Pic for signature.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Most dangerous writing apps is really dangerous. Lol

Super dangerous so much so that I really enjoyed doing the freewrite! Do you use it?

Ya, i used it once or twice. I think after this i wanna try out to post too

You did great!!!! so glad that you are playing with us!!!

Thank you so much for the kind words and encouragement!

For the Montessori price, the teachers SHOULD take the time to sit down with you whenever you can make it!

Hey @madpotters yeah, I guess so right? Kinda crazy how much we pay for our kids to go to kindergarten! I am still learning and understanding the Montessori way. Does your kids go to Montessori?

I dont have kids, but I used to live in NYC and had a few friends with kids in that age range. I remember chats about which school to go to, is this one really work $30K a year, will they give any discounts for a second kid....Unfortunately, though, from what I understand - if you don't start them off at the "right" kindergarten, they will have a hard time getting into the "better" elementary/middle school/high schools in the future. It costs a lot to raise kids nowadays!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I love coincidences.

Very cool, well done... I'm going to have to check out this "Most Dangerous Writing App"... sounds interesting.

You did a great job, especially for your first freewrite! I considered doing a Montessori approach with our homeschool. Technically we do a lot of the things that they teach. I like it because it teaches the kids independency and how to live and take care of themselves which they need to learn how to do anyway.

I hope the communication bridges you are building will help your son to open up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00