RecoverysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Skye 20181011_024418.jpg

Eyes opened,
Blinked twice, opened again.
Dark room
Bloody heart, darker vision.
I looked around,
It's just me standing in my blood.
What happened
I must have been gone for bout a decade.

Heads spinning like erosion
This is retribution.
I need to make a confession,
How did I get here?
Opened my mouth to scream
But all I hear is gushing air.
Was I go convulsion?


Jumped up,
That must be a broken bathroom.
I wanna run
But to where with this dirty skin.
I must be crazy
Maybe that's a good thing.
I need a shower the voice in my head says.


Turned on the tap,
A little gurgling but not a single drop.
Patience worn out
Skin dried like an Egyptian mum.
Ecdysis, like a reptile.
I pulled off my old skin.
Painful as Fuck, but it must be done.


It's all coming back to me
Memories of my good days
Oh lord, how did I get here.
Does it matter? Do I matter?
This is not a song, it's reality
Something much of a mortal combat.


Made to move,
Kicked over a bottle of gin.
Took a sip, Fuck it, tossed it to the trash bin.
In the bin, I saw a pencil
I began to write - on my palm.
This is me, no longer the dying James.
Don't know what I'm writing.
But it isn't a poem neither a song.
It's one more step,
Towards RECOVERY.


Photo Credit: photo of @eccentric-sky taken by @lordjames.

Sort:  

While going through the poem, a stanza of it caught my attention..
When i translated the meaning of that stanza, it showed that ' what men see as black, you may be seeing it as white.'
Like @lordjames said, it is not a poem but a step towards recovery.

It makes more meaning to him because he had an intention of picking up the pencil from the trash can.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hail @lordjames good composition on this write up I really love poetry writing. This is not bad at all bravo

I really enjoyed this James.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89