Carnations and Daughters

in #freewrite5 years ago

Trolls.png

This is a Freewrite to this prompt

Daughters and Carnations

Carnation, carnations. What is there to say? Mostly, that I don't like them. Which is weird since I like most flowers. But the carnation is one I don't like. It looks somehow dead to me or maybe because it is put on graves a lot.
But for mother's day, my daughter gave me some carnations and I like those. I even planted them and hope that they will grow. Because, if they do and I see them when I walk out the door, I will think about my daughter and that is always a good thought.
She is a mommy now and soon, she will be for a second time. This time, we are going to get a girl. And I say we because all of us are close. In affection and physically close as in living 5 minutes apart. We are my sons and my daughter and one son has two sons, my daughter has one and now, we are all getting a girl. Not that it really matters, but I think for women, it is nice to have a girl, a daughter, someone who is maybe a little bit like us.
But then, I think about that I don't want to be like my mother - and then where are we.
It is funny. When I had my daughter I was very concerned about not developing gender bias. My sons had dolls to play with and my daughter had trucks and such - the typical gender assigned toys, just reversed.
And she was a real tomboy. Until the day she discovered Barbies. We ended up with a lot of Barbies in a house I swore will never, ever see any.
And such is life...

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.
Graphics made on Canva.

Freewrite.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

beta reg banner.png

Post from Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and other social media accounts to your Steem account using Share2steem. Here is my referral link

Join @Actifit, become healthier by being active and earn as you walk. My referral link

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest - Join the #seven77 (#777) movement to promote Steem started by @nathanmars7

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

And get your Freewrite House Swag here

Sort:  

@mariannewest For my Granddaughters first Christmas I bought her a tonka truck now she is nine and tells me she is a girlie girl, whatever that means, I take it as she does not want boy toys anymore. Congratulations on the new Grandchild. It has always astonished me that when that new child is born it is like there has always been that spot in your heart waiting on them and how much you instantly love them.

I know! Isn’t it amazing. There is always more love 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awww!! So sweet that you all are so close and you get to be with your family often! Great freewrite!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

🏆 Hi @mariannewest! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @mariannewest :) | For investors.

Hello dear @mariannewest.

The children will always be an extension of ourselves. We see in them actions, gestures that identify us.
You have the great blessing that your daughter lives physically close to you. I imagine you see each other every day.
I hope those flowers manage to grow in your garden, so you can always think of your daughter every time you look at them.

All best, Piotr.

I know what it feel likes, God gave me two beautiful girls, they are my hole life. However I would like to have a baby boy too, but who knows...

Lamento mi inglés estoy escribiendo sin ayuda de algun traductor.

Congratulations Marianne! My daughter just gave birth to her second child, another girl. So now I have 2 grandsons and 2-granddaughters. So exciting when our children have children of their own. Best wishes! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97