Sound of Sirens - My Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

State of Emergency.png

The Sound of Sirens - Freewrite

The sound of sirens has almost become a constant background noise, a hum that is there, somewhere in the city. Living in a big city changes the ear and the awareness. In nature, the parrot screeching might be the beginning of the warning sirens going off everywhere. Danger. Danger. Danger. One animal after the other starts screeching and warning and running.
Or the warning, the sirens of nature, could be the absolute silence. A predator is approaching. Everything becomes as quiet as possible. Freezing in place wherever they are. Relying on that their camouflage works since that is their best protection. The silence is jarring when you are used to the constant noise of birds telling what is up, insects buzzing all over the place and depending on the region of the forest, monkeys doing their thing. They are not quiet. They are loud. Nature is loud!! Even my little backyard is loud. Mockingbirds are getting it on. If the crows have their meetings and decide which tree to raid next you almost need earplugs to cut out the noise. Loud, loud, loud. Well, and the roosters are masters in being heard. At the same time, we are talking about the noise pollution that is causing stress in us modern day people.
It is a different loud that is supposed to scare you, like the sirens telling you to get out of the way because something bad has happened. The TV ads and shows that have sounds build in to jolt you back into paying attention and cause the release of a bit of adrenaline over and over again. So bad for our health.
The murder of crows only causes fear (adrenaline release) if you watched Hitchcock's The Birds. Otherwise, it is pretty calming to listen to nature's sounds.

Written in about 5 minutes to this prompt. Join us!!

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

I am a proud member of the Dtubefamily777 created by @nathanmars.

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Post from Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and other social media accounts to your Steem account using Share2steem. Here is my referral link

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

I have to leave this morning @mariannewest, so I came here to
Look for the prompt for today, but I'm not seeing it. I was
Going to see if I could write something for you during
My 'caregiver' duty this morning, because I will
Have some 'dead spots' between tasks.
I'll check once I get there, but I won't
Have access to all my saved images
There (taking my laptop, no room
For all those images) I hope you
Have a splendid day. Be well.

That is sweet that you came looking first thing in the morning! It publishes at 7 AM Pacific time

I knew I was going to be leaving, so I wanted to get a jump on it.
Right now, I am on my laptop at my niece's house, where I
Am performing CNA/Caregiver duty for her Husband,
who is a quadriplegic, while she (his full time care
Giver) went to get a CT scan, as she just finished
Chemo last week. This is to check to see if they
Got it all. I am a Certified Nursing Assistant,
But my feet, back and now my hip, won't
Let me do anything full time.. She texted
Almost an hour ago, and her CT was
Late getting started, then after that
She wanted to go by the computer
Store, so I am stuck here for a few
More hours, without access to
My photos or poems.
I'll survive, but
It's boring.
You know what
I mean @mariannewest?

Oh. Perfect opportunity to read a lot of peoples posts and comment away LOL

But so sorry to hear about the hardship your niece is facing. that is very difficult!

He was in an auto accident over 10 yrs ago, spinal cord injury in the neck
Basically paralyzed from the neck down. He can move his arms a bit
So he can operate a computer, phone and TV remote, but he has an
Ostomy bag for feces, suprapubic catheter for urine and now he
Has a feeding tube, which means someone has to inject his
Liquid food every 20 min all day until he gets a certain
Amount of calories. He can eat solid food, but he
Gets tremendous intestinal pain when he does.
Hence, me and her have to do everything
For him. and I mean everything. He is
Very demanding. It is a real trial. I
Am glad to help, but I can't do it
All the time. I got a call for my
Hip surgery this afternoon,
So my own ordeal might
Be ending in a month
Or so, then I can go
Back to playing
Music again.
elephant nose-mustache1.gif

Oh, so sad!! Well, I am happy that your hip will get fixed. But it is so hard to be a caretaker to begin with - then, when the person is not so nice - it is even harder. Your poor niece. I hope that she will look out for her own health!!!

Loading...

Great reminders of the 🦜I saw last Friday.
Great lines
I download an app just for nice sound.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Nature is loud for sure

Posted using Partiko Android

Silence can be alarming!
-- when your toddler is making his usual commotion but suddenly not a sound... is he alive? What has he done?
-- the calm before the storm
-- the eerie silence of a town when the poewr goes out

In L.A. during a blackout, a different form of silence descended. The stars and the Milky Way were suddenly visible in the night sky. Alarmed residents phoned 9-1-1 thinking it was an alien invasion. These people had never seen the sky without light pollution obscuring the stars.

I hear you on all counts. Kids suddenly being silent is a cause for panic!! lol

We had that blackout in San Diego as well. I loved it!! Even though one of our neighbors had a generator. didn't like that...

Generators are LOUD!
I love the old push lawn mowers with no motors. Soooo nice and quiet. Weed eaters, leaf blowers... meh.
I love all that nature in your writing. And your chickens!!

I have a push mower!!! LOL

So do I - and I'd use it a lot more if not for the white clover getting tangled in the blades. If I could just push straight ahead, no stopping every ten feet to detangle clover! The smaller size of the antique mowers makes them good around flower beds and in the dog pen.
20170714_110123.jpg How do I keep these from going sideways after downloading from phone to a file in the pc

I go into preview and turn them. Usually I turn them 360 degree and then, they show up right side up on the post. Used to drive me crazy!! That is one handsome dog!!

Thanks!
Preview...? In the post? I don't see a way to rotate anything here. This one just happened to stay vertical. I see it in the preview pane below. But if I do try this -
IMG_4375.JPG - I see no options to control keeping it vertical. Might be a fluke of my computer. Old Lenovo laptop.

No, when you have it on your desktop. I have a Mac now and don't know how PC's work, but I get the sideways pictures.
Screen Shot 2019-02-16 at 8.23.47 PM.png

do you have something like that? Then you press turn and it will do a quarter turn.
Do it until it is right side up again and then, usually it copies in fine...

Oh - and a We-write is happening at the Freewrite House!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00