The Fires are Burning - Puzzle - Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Freewrite (5).png

It puzzles me that so many are just not getting it.
In California - the fires are burning.
On the Colorado River - the fires are burning. The fire chief on the radio said that they never saw anything like this. 10 years ago this was unthinkable.
The fire season is all year long. Overnight, 100 thousand acres are going up in flames. So dry.
So hot. We are all talking about the weather not because we don't have anything else to say - no - because the weather is different from what we expect it to be. The dry areas are dryer - maybe hotter. Others are complaining about more rain.
The Hurricanes are getting stronger and more frequent and are reaching further than they used to.
But no. Everything is fine!!
We are losing land in Alaska because area which should be in permafrost are not. the waves crushing take 10 feet of land with them. Every single storm. The storms are coming more often. Say goodbye to your house and build further inland because you better do it now before you have to swim back to shore - if you can.
We are running out of sand - not desert sand - but the sand used to build with - to make concrete. In some countries, people are being killed so the sand thieves can go on their land and mine the sand. Even in the US, where there are some regulations and we all know that many with money break them. but this might not be the rich - digging up sand from shores and filling the holes with toxic waste - dual income stream. Clever. Right? we all need to be entrepreneurs because we are not making it.
But don't worry.
climate change? What? We have people in Congress who throw a snowball as proof that we don't have climate change. See, we still have snow.
Our world is run by idiots and what puzzles me is that so many don't get it or don't care.

A Freewrite to this Prompt

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

My recent posts

Daily Prompt - 294-Puzzle

Chicken Picture

Daily 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt 288

Ulog 27 - Tired & Hot

Daily Chicken Picture 29

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Wow, love how you took the word of puzzling and really ran with it! Beautifully worded, and actually brings up topics of why the hell no ones doing anything about all the issues around us :(.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know, right? why the hell aren't we?

Funny I was just talking about this in one of my post. I notice you had a link to a so cal steemit. Do you know if theres one for nor cal. Either way sent an upvote and follow

I am not sure if there is a NoCal - I know that @happymoneyman had organized a few meetups in the SF area - but don't know if that is still going on. The SoCal started because 2 people decided they want to do this thing - maybe you are the one starting it for your area?
And thank you for stopping by :)

Thank you I’m not far from the bay I’ll check their profile out

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wonderful post about some important issues. But as long as there's a profit to be made (preferably insane profits), few people in charge or in power will do anything to deal with these issues.

As for your conclusion that our leaders are "idiots," I'd go even further and say that most of them are insane – quite frankly and undeniably, IN----SANE. (fill in the blank)

That's why we cannot leave things to them. Something better change, and one of the most essential changes must be in our leadership.

(I aint too optimistic....)

I am with you on everything you said. And am not optimistic either - there is too much power (big money) that has a huge interest in keeping on making huge profits - consequences be damned.

Yes, and when the coming crash comes, many of those big-money men will have to rethink their obsession with huge profits.

But the consequences will be such that "rethinking" will be ineffective. They and all of us will suffer the consequences, for years, before things change for the better. Until then ... all the best.

We do have climate change. It's just not coming from the direction people are being told. Since you really like to dig down into things, I'm recommending Suspicious Observers. Why? Because Earth isn't the only thing changing. And "global warming" isn't settled science. https://www.suspicious0bservers.org/

There's a lot to this puzzle that we are being purposefully distracted away from.

Well, however you want to look at what is happening, deforestation is a fact - and you are doing some gardening and know that trees play a huge role in the fertility of the land and they play a huge role in rain production, and protecting from soil erosion.
I also know for a fact how agriculture how we are practicing with huge mono cropping is causing all kinds of problems, from soil loss to tons of fertilizers and pesticide/herbicides ending up in the groundwater and rivers. Dead river zones are a fact. All of those things also contribute to worse air conditions, less protective ozone layer and so much more.
Plastic everywhere - like in huge plastic islands in the ocean. fact.
Plastic breaking down into micro particles and ending up in our bodies - causing estrogen driven cancer. Fact.
Overconsumption and destruction of natural environments: fact
fracking being extremely bad for the earth: fact
And there are so many more examples of that.
There is maybe 3% of scientist who do not agree that we are causing climate change.
But even if climate change is not caused by all the things I mentioned above - and so many more other human actions - they still are bad for us and we should change them.
So, rather than debating if climate change is real or not - let's plant more trees for example. LA is the proof in the pudding that you can change air quality and the quality of life for people with strict emission controlls and planting more trees. The air over LA used to be a smog cloud and my ex-husband who grew up there was telling me that there were days were kids were not even allowed to go outside and others, where they would run around and play and their lungs were hurting. All that has changed for the better by doing those action I think we need to do.
And I don't care if we do them because we believe in climate change or not.
Let's just take care of our earth and each other and we all will be good.

Oh I agree, humans aren't off the hook for proper tending of the garden they live in (starting with the horrifying fact that most people are oblivious to the fact that we all live in a garden). But we can't adjust our tending if we don't have a big picture of what is affecting the garden. That's why I really appreciate the Suspicious Observers.

And the number is a lot bigger than 3% of the scientists that don't agree with the official cause of weather change. About 6 years ago, one quiet morning of a camping trip, quite by accident I did some eavesdropping in the scientific journals. (I had just downloaded a delicious app that actually drudged up stories out of the sciences. It got swallowed up of course and now it's all popular frufru crap) ...anyway ... the horror that came to my eyes and ruined my morning is that this business of slapping down opposing conversations, that could widen the circle of discussion, was extremely vicious in that community -- to the point of losing everything. So as I've continued to brush into mentions here and there about how scientists don't dare to disagree, it's been no surprise to me.

Your long list of things that should be known just brings me to a persistent thought that floats through my head: It's really not fair that every realization of what is being twisted just exposes more layers of deception. But, it does widen what one can see through the lenses.

And you're putting your fingers all over something I wrote about hmm 12 years ago? I don't understand why scientist have to stand around arguing about what may or may not be outside our control. If I wasn't afraid of dropping into a rabbit hole, I'd go find what I wrote then. At that time, I felt like all this chatter about global warming was just distracting people from concentrating on the obvious. It's obvious the air needs to be cleaned up because we can't breathe it in without becoming ill. It felt like too much time energy and money was being spent on trying to figure out which theory was true instead of focusing time energy and money on actually Doing.

words.

I felt like the people around me were no longer discussing their own air quality, or their own streams that were being polluted by their careless upstream neighbor. Instead they were arguing about the esoteric. The problem went from being in their own hands, in their own neighborhood to being out there somewhere caused by "them".

I lived most of my life in Dallas. We also had red-alert days. There were things being done way before this chatter of global warming started. To me, it feels the global warming politicians are trying to take credit for starting changes that started long before they arrived on the scene. But MORE it feels like they actually slowed down progress by diverting attention. But, again, I don't have stats and facts except for the changing conversations around me.

Also, I see you giving validation to a "rumor" I heard: California is becoming so dry because of the systematic elimination and redirection of natural water distribution -- starting way back.

It was a passing statement that I overheard. If I had to pick a starting point, I'd start with Hoover Dam. But if they already thought that was a good idea ... it probably goes back long before that. There's bound to be some really interesting history there.

And to this mono-crop business. Yeah. I'd like more history on that please. According to my aged landlord who was explaining the finer points of the horse-drawn tiller/planter that lives out in the barn, both the main crop and the cover crop were planted at the same time. And then government subsidies and stupidity ensued. The farmers around here say the government is what keeps profit and good reasoning out of small farming.

I mean if we pick at this too much we're liable to find out that "global warming" is a conspiracy to cover over all the climate change that the government is doing to gain control over the land and the water and mineral resources so they can sell them off to the highest bidder to line their own pockets. It goes in as an extra layer on top of kickbacks from .... ... oh wait. I didn't say that out loud.

Never mind. I wasn't here.

Oh wait wait ... you remember how we are frustrated that people aren't recycling ... well and I'm frustrated because recycling where I live is a major pain ... well I bumped into something hugely interesting that is hugely relevant to where you live. Plastic Straws Aren't the Problem I think it's something you'll really enjoy promoting somewhere somehow. I know it doesn't go straight into your podcast top-topic but ...

I am with you and have lived on ecological awareness all my life. Germany was way ahead of the US - still is - in many ways. Even though when I went back - I was disappointed to see how much one use containers and plastic wrapping they are using now.
And I agree that a lot of the discussing is just a smoke screen.
And, most, if not all politicians, especially here where it takes so much money to be elected, are in the pocket of the few who own just about anything and are pulling the strings to make the puppets dance.

Gunther Grass - a German writer and journalist wrote about all of that over 40 years ago when I was a very political teenager.

The older I get, the more I feel that we can influence little and a lot at the same time. We can by how we spend our money and how we live our lives.

When I found Permaculture, I was in love. for one, it is founded on ethics - earth care and people care (which really, people care is part of earth care) are the main principals. And if we practice that, we are okay. then, we are not throwing food away while half of the world is starving - we are not seeling weapons to governments that then go ahead and use them to commit warcrimes - Saudis right now in Yemen and who put Sadam in charge and gave him gas he promptly used on the Kurds? And then, we got mad when he didn't want to give up the oil anymore.
Anyway, it makes me sick to think about that and there is nothing I can do. But I can plant trees, share healthy food, talk about stuff like that on the podcast and maybe inspire someone to stop using round up...

And why do we need straws to begin with? I don't 🤪

Some do need straws. Read the article not the headline though.

Total agreement on the rest!

I will read it - in a little bit. Get to the prompts first. but I opened it :)

Oh, I one hundred percent agree that people tend to take one "sexy" subject and put all their energy there and forget about the bigger issues.
part of it is, I think, that the bigger issues are just so big and we feel helpless to do something about it. But a straw - I can do something about. I can carry my own - as with spoon and fork - and not need to use one more piece of disposable.
Agreed that they are small steps - but they do make a person feel in power - and with that feeling might come the confidence to tackle the bigger issues.
The ghost nets have been a huge issue for a long time. But I disagree with the article saying that it is most of the pollution.
I go to the beach here and we have lots of awareness campaigns and regular cleanups - still, I find bags full of plastic. Bags, bottles, caps - you name it. By putting it all on the fishing industry - that is too easy.
Every plastic bag I don't use multiplied by millions doing the same thing is a big impact.
In the end, I can only control what I am doing - and that barely LOL

I really agree with this. It's high time we kicked our butts and saved our planet. Sweeping changes need to be made not only on the citizens, but on the government as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94