What does a banana taste like?

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_9663.jpg

What does a banana taste like? Well, there is only one answer. The good old Permaculture answer: It depends.
Are we talking a store bought banana which in the US is pretty much only one kind - Chiquita. That is all we know. Coming from South America and only that one variety. It is not bad but not all that banana can be. when you get them in the store, the bananas are often green. If they didn't get gassed, they might never ripen and have this weird brownish grey-green color but still taste like cardboard. In case you have never eaten cardboard, I think you should try. So many foods can be compared with it - like many froze pizzas. You really must know what the comparison is.
If you bring the banana home and it is a perfect yellow, but the flesh is still a bit firm, the taste is a little bit sweet, but not too much and the texture is firm. The smell is also different from other fruit. Just a hint of the tropics - or what I think that might smell like. if you let it sit a bit more, then brown spots are covering the once yellow beauty and the banana itself might get brown too. At this point, I don't like to eat it anymore because it is so very, very sweet. But I love it in smoothies or as an ice cream.
Put that ripe banana in the freezer and all kinds of goodies can be made with it.
Green bananas are delicious when cooked and I will fix one tomorrow from my garden and describe what they taste like.
Plantains are best fried in oil. That is best tasting, not best for you. They are a bit starchy and sweet, but not overly sweet. More like a tasty chip.

IMG_9645.jpg

One of my favorites is the ice cream banana. They are fat and a bit shorter than the typical storebought banana. Also straighter. When they are ripe, they taste like custard. So creamy and rich and delicious.
But one of my favorite things to eat is the banana flower. Either fixed with coconut milk and green beans or with lots of garlic and soy sauce. So good!!! It is best eaten over rice and it almost feels and tastes like eating meat.

IMG_9637.jpg

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

It is yummy! Especially the flowers, too...

Posted using Partiko Android

How do you fix the flowers? I am always ready for more ways. I learned that they are edible and how to cook them from my Filipino friend. But only know two ways. I am sure there are more ways to make delicious meals.

Okey I will cook and post it

Posted using Partiko Android

wow !!! beauty!!!! I also love bananas in a smoothie and adore chocolate banana cream. I never tasted a flower of a banana but I read that it was edible

Thank you so much!!!

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Bananas are very yummie! I could eat them all day long!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 129 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

"It depends" - that's one of my favorite answers, too!
Never in my life have I tasted a banana that tastes like candy that supposedly has a banana flavor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71