Private therapy (Five minutes freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

'I don't remember the day our ways parted. It must have been an ordinary day, our story was so ordinary by then, you have to admit. Two lonely people walking the same road although we were going in different places. We made good travel companions - you'd hold my bags when my shoulders hurt, I'd give you water as you were too proud to ask. No looking back, we promised. And you didn't, I know, cause I peeked. Honestly, I did more than peek, I looked after you as you walked away til I could not see you anymore.
'I knew you'd be looking, silly, that's why I would not turn my head. And I let you carry the water just to make you happy.'
'Please get out of my head, I'm trying to write something here... Thank you!'
'Where was I? The postcards were really nice, a bit formal for my taste, but it was good to know you were... you know, around, doing your own thing...'

Still bitter I did not ask you to come along, I see.

crossroads-3251759_960_720.jpg

'Not in the least, my friend, not in the least. I did not stay at that crossroad for long. It was already late, all the time wasted trying to find a destination that would suit us both'.
'Ah, so it was wasted time now... I see.'
'Come on, you know what I mean, there was someone waiting for me down the road. You knew that even back than, you even told me that. And, no, I'm no longer pissed about that. You were right! It took me a while to realize what road I must take, for it's the kind of road that ain't on any map and it may be full of diversions and dead-ends... but in the end we all make it to the road we were supposed to take. Don't you agree?'
'I don't really know. I didn't travel that far, if you must know.'
'And the postcards? All the interesting places...'
'You should've known I was too lazy, I'm a creature of habit, never really wanted to travel far. All I ever wanted was find a nice place and settle down. Enjoy the view.'
'I know, old friend. Doesn't really matter now, we're both past our travelling days. All that's important is that at some point we walked the same path'.

Story written for @mariannewest's freewrite challenge. Today's prompt was: important! Check out her blog and join our freewrite community.
Image Pixabay

Sort:  

but in the end we all make it to the road we were supposed to take.

Sadly, I don't think we do. It would be easy if we got there anyway, what would be the point of decisions, of choices?

You might have a point, but then you do have a choice and sometimes it takes you to a dead-end...the path is hard to find...
And anyway... it was a private session :))

I really enjoy your conversational style writing. I felt as though we were discussing this. :)

What a beautifully written piece. I read it several times. Very well done.
It’s Wednesday so it must be myself with your prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

200 Day Party!! Win 10+ SBD and SBI memberships!!! — Steemit

Imgur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93