A Question Of Morals (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: Radio Show provided by @mariannewest

Link To 5 Minute Freewrite Task

Pre Story Waffle

I have been putting a lot of my energy into recording my freewrite stories. Some old and some new. It has been a lot of fun, but it means that I've not written a new story for a few days.

One great thing I did learn, was how to organise your YouTube videos from this excellent post by @snook.

Receive more YouTube Views: How to

Fantastic, my YouTube home page looks so nice now. The post by @snook is easy to follow and. nicely written.

Anyway, let's have a story. I haven't a clue what to write about so let's just start and see where the story goes.

A Question Of Morals

3590514_L.jpg

Those guys on the radio show. They are dark. They are seedy. They are taking part in organised sexual abuse.

Imagine this accusation coming in 1970s Britain. From a member of a punk band. This ‘outrageous hooligan’ making absurd comments about famous well to do television and radio presenters. How can these people make such judgements?

Let's discredit this punk, let's discredit anyone else who speaks of this. Keep them silent. They are the disgrace of society. Low life's. Nobody will believe them.

Next, somebody will be saying that the British government knows about this.

How outrageous.

So what do we know 40 years on? The punk was correct. Everyone else was correct. Nobody listened. The truth came out eventually. Everything they said was true.

More should come out but you still feel like someone has found a way to hold back. Independent investigators finding a way to delay the enquiry.

Respected radio and television presenters arrested one by one. The main culprit had already passed with his knighthood. They still call him Sir.

It would be nice to say that I have written a dark piece of fiction, but unfortunately I have not.

3594672_L.jpg

Post story waffle

That is freewrite. It can take you anywhere. Today, I remember true and dark events. A big departure in tone from my usual stories, which are usually humourous or silly.

I'm going to make a cup of tea now. Maybe I'll write another story before I go sleep. Something fun.

3601071_L.jpg

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

Sort:  

So much of that coming to light these days... sad - but so much going on right now we are not believing and people 40 years from now are going to shake their heads about...

Yes, very sad. It came to my mind so I'd thought I would write about it. I did write another story after this to help me sleep.

Wow. What was this? I hadn't known. Who is the knight?

Jimmy Saville. He was a famous radio and television personality in the UK. One of the first presenters of Top of the Pops.

All this became public a few years after his death.

Horrible guy, indeed and his connections to the political class and the royals are quite disturbing. I was reading the other day about some bishop, great pal of Prince Charles... it's so easy to come and say 'oh, I had no idea..'
By the way, who's the 'punk' you mention? I'm curious..
Oh, and for the new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-297-5-minute-freewrite-day-prompt-drive

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

It was John Lydon (Johnny Rotten) from The Sex Pistols

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97