A Story About A Pineapple

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

“Good morning,” said Harry as he walked into the shop.

“Good morning, sir” replied Arthur, the owner of the fruit shop.

“Please, can I have a pineapple?”

“Certainly, sir,” replied Harry.

Harry then takes a piece of rock and puts it in a bag.

“Excuse me,” said Harry. “This is not a pineapple. You've given me a piece of rock.”

“That is correct, sir” said Arthur, “but this is better than a rock.”

Harry looks puzzled.

“Why?”

“Because it's a special rock, sir,” replied Arthur. “In a few days time it will open up and you'll be able to taste the best fruit juice that you will have ever have tasted in your life.”

“Are you sure?” asked Harry. “Seems very strange to me.”

“Why don't you try it, sir. Give it a go.”

Harry took it home. About a week and a half later, the rock has still not opened up. This prompted him to go back to the fruit shop.

“That rock you sold me. It hasn't opened up yet,”

“That is because you don't believe,” said Arthur. “If you believe hard enough, it will open up and it will be the best fruit that you will ever eat.”

At this point I have fallen asleep. But I want to finish the story. So 24 hours later, I get a chance.

image

“I'm not so sure,” said Harry. “I think you've just sold me a piece of rock. I want a refund.”

“Why don't you give it another week?” said Arthur. “If it still hasn't opened up, give it back and I will give you back the money. Please, keep believing and you will be rewarded.”

Harry is not convinced.

“I'm bringing it back tomorrow.”

“That is perfectly fine, sir,” said Arthur. “However, I think you are making a mistake. Believe me. If you give it back to me now, you will never know if you've been denied something really special. You just need to believe. Go on, believe.”

I will leave the story there. It really is just a piece of rock. Trust me, I'm the writer of it. Harry took the rock back to the shop and got his money back. He knows Arthur is an idiot.

“You're an idiot,” said Harry to Arthur.

“You may think so, but you'll be surprised how many people still believe. Maybe they are all idiots.”

“No,” said Harry. “You really are the idiot “

image

Thank you for reading.

Task provided by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-480-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-pineapple

If you like this, try this:

A Story About Travelling Back In Time To See Queen
image

Sort:  

Author must be in Congress.

🔮Today's prompt delivered by Uncle Bruni🧙‍♂️
MomentCam_20190214092051.gif

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-482-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-magical-realism

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you; and yes, it is inspired by Brexit.

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to believe........ famous last words. Yup, sounds just like so many things sold to us - it's not working because you don't believe enough.

....and they carry on. That's the worse thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00